Connect with us

Reviews

Hostels vs Hotels vs Apartment

Finding travel accommodation to suit you on your next travel adventure can be daunting. To help you choose we have compared Hostels vs Hotels vs Apartment.

Published

on

Hostels vs Hotels vs Apartments

For the average traveller looking to step outside their comfort zone, they want to do it in comfort. But that doesn’t mean you have to find yourself a swanky hotel anymore.

With the huge rise in the popularity of apartment rentals for travellers, like Wimdu, over the last year, and the number of hostels which have really nice private rooms, there are a couple of different options for every budget type.

Hostels vs Hotels vs Apartments

Not all Hostel rooms are scummy.

The only problem for an adventure travelling couple is choosing between the three different options.

We wanted to help you out on your next travel adventure by doing a quick summary of Hostels vs Hotels vs Apartment.

Hostels vs Hotels vs Apartment

Privacy, budget, location and facilities all play a huge part in the way we choose our accommodation when we travel. And while each of the different options have their benefits, none of the three are perfect.

We should also note that while every Hostel, Hotel and Apartment is different, we have been very generic in our answers below. Some accommodation options are much, much worse, while some are much, much better.

Basically, the majority of the time you get what you pay for, but sometimes it just comes down to pure luck.

Hostels

When we first started travelling we always stayed in Hostels. However, the longer we have travelled, the less time we have spent in Hostels.

In particular, we very rarely stay in Hostel dorm rooms now unless we are travelling with a group of friends. This is because we like our space and privacy. Even if it is just to keep the romance alive while on the road.

Romance in San Sebastian Cole and Adela

We have learnt that if you don’t sleep well, romance will die while travelling.

Hostel Pros:

For a single traveller Hostels always provide reasonably good value for money. Where else can you find a place to rest your tired jandal wearing feet and have a free breakfast for around $10 – $20 per night?

You also have the chance to meet a lot of other international travellers because Hostels are generally well-known as being social.

The staff are often friendly and other travellers will be looking to share travel stories with you.

Hostels will put on events such as pub crawls, fancy dress parties and free walking tours to help you explore the destination.

Most Hostels will come with some sort of kitchen facilities so that you can cook for yourself, helping you stretch your budget even further.

Hostels vs Hotels vs Apartments

Learn to cook cheaply, but well, in Hostels.

Hostel Cons:

Due to Hostels being very social, they can also be very noisy.

Unless you opt-in for a private room then don’t expect any privacy. We have stayed in dorms with over 20 bunk beds. Basically if you want to sleep, don’t stay in a 20 bed dorm.

While you may get free breakfast, expect it to consist of white bread with only a few spreads and basic cereal options like cornflakes. If it is a buffet option, then check out our all you can eat buffet eating tips!

The kitchens are usually messy. We don’t understand how travellers cannot clean up after themselves. Do your own dishes!

The cost of a private room in a Hostel is comparable to some 2/3 star Hotels.

Hostels vs Hotels vs Apartments

Dorm room in Barnacles Hostel.

Hotels

If we book a Hotel room when we are travelling then we are very particular about our choices. They have to have a free breakfast and be centrally located to make them worth the extra cost.

Hotel Pros:

Private rooms. What else do we have to say? After three years of travelling it is nice to be able to escape for a few hours in privacy.

Hotel rooms are often nicer than Hostel rooms with more space and larger beds.

As members of the Hotels.com reward scheme we can earn free accommodation the more we book online. You should definitely check it out if you stay in Hotels.

Hotels often have some sort of fitness facilities such as a pool or small gym. This is really important to us while travelling.

Hotel chains such as the Radisson Blu or the Starwood group will have the same high quality around the world.

Hotel Cons:

Hotels can be quite sterile in nature. We don’t mean clean, because that is nice, but they can be very business-like.

While front desk staff are friendly, they won’t go out of their way to help you find adventures and things to do.

There is little to no social scene or a chance to meet with other travellers. And if they have a bar on site it is likely to be expensive and dull.

There won’t be any kitchen facilities so that you can cook for yourself. Restaurants are often your only option.

Apartments

We have recently discovered short-term apartment rentals while we are travelling. Basically how they work is that someone either has a couple of spare rooms in their own apartment that they rent to you, while they are still there, or they have a whole apartment you can rent out for your stay.

Some of them are wonderful, while some can be misleading in their descriptions.

Apartment Pros:

Apartments can feel like a home away from home when you are stepping outside your comfort zone. Having a homely base to come back to each day makes a huge difference to travel happiness. Here are some worldwide vacation apartments from WorldEscape.

Kitchen facilities allow you to cook with ingredients picked up from local markets and help you travel for longer on your budget.

Florence Italy Local Fruit Markets

Affordable apartments are not usually located centrally which means they will be quieter allowing privacy and lots of relaxing after being on the go all day.

With a group of travellers you get the benefit of all being in the same apartment which makes the travelling experience better. Most of the time.

Apartment Cons:

If you are renting out a room in someones shared apartment, it can be extremely awkward and you feel as if you are intruding in their private lives.

Some affordable apartments will not be located centrally. So factor in additional costs for transportation and getting around.

You won’t get the chance to meet other travellers.

Hostels vs Hotels vs Apartments Verdict

For the first time traveller or budget traveller, Hostels are your best friend. You get the chance to meet new people from around the world and find out travel tips from travellers that have been there and done that. Plus if you stay in Hostels you can save your money for travel adventures like kayaking in Naples.

kayaking in Naples

Hotels are generally nicer and comparable in price to private dorms if you are travelling as a couple. And if you have found one with a good buffet breakfast you can usually skip lunch.

While staying with a local in a shared apartment can be great if you want to find out some local travel tips, it will feel like you are intruding in their lives. Therefore we recommend booking an entire apartment for your privacy, kitchen facilities and a home away from home.

Overall, if we can find a suitable apartment then we always choose an Apartment over a Hostel or Hotel.

READER QUESTION: In the Hostels vs Hotels vs Apartment debate which one do you choose? And why?

Cole is one half of New Zealand's leading adventure travel blogging couple who have been wearing out their jandals around the world since 2009. He loves any adventure activities and anything to do with the water whether it is Surfing, Diving, Swimming, Snorkeling or just lounging nearby on the beach. You can follow Cole on Google+. Or consider following us via RSS Feed, Twitter, Facebook and subscribe to our Newsletter.

Continue Reading
49 Comments

49 Comments

  1. Pingback: Should You Choose a Hostel or a Hotel When You Are Budget Travelling? | Life Changing Year

  2. Tracey - Life Changing Year

    November 12, 2012 at 6:33 AM

    Loved this post – your pics are really great. And I cheated an linked to it as my own post today – saved me writing about all the same stuff! Loving your work!

    • Cole Burmester

      November 12, 2012 at 8:53 PM

      Thanks Tracey for the share! If you ever want to write a guest post for us just let us know 😉

  3. Caro

    November 12, 2012 at 7:57 AM

    I can speak for both Matt and I, we’re definitely on the apartment bandwagon! One of the top pros for us is the luxury of having a whole kitchen to ourselves. We really love to cook good food on the road which brings down our costs and is healthier. Restaurant food gets old, very quickly. And you’re right about hostel prices! I can’t believe at the prices now, hardly seems worth it!

    • Cole Burmester

      November 12, 2012 at 8:59 PM

      As a couple Hostels just are not worth it anymore. We love apartments for the exact same reason though as you guys. Local ingredients from the markets are the best to cook with!

      • Caro

        November 12, 2012 at 9:06 PM

        Very interesting point about hostels and couples. We want to do a post about it actually, see other’s opinions since we realized we could maybe save more staying in dorms but is it actually worth it? I just feel awkward. Or maybe getting old haha! Nice to hear we’re not the only ones though!

  4. Laurence

    November 12, 2012 at 3:23 PM

    For me it sort of depends on the situation. For independant exploring we love the apartment options. For all out pampering.. it’s got to be a hotel (if the budget ever stretches to that..) wheras if we’re feeling social, then hostel it is!

    • Cole Burmester

      November 12, 2012 at 9:00 PM

      Hostels are nice to mix it up every now and then because it is great to talk to someone else once in a while. Well for Adela anyway because I think she gets sick of me babbling on. Would love to afford Hotels a lot more, but not having a kitchen really sucks. We like to eat healthy (most of the time).

  5. Pingback: our daily round up of favorite travel reading for the day.

  6. Angela

    November 12, 2012 at 10:22 PM

    I like the idea of renting an apartment, it’s probably more intimate and I like cooking my food, but maybe it’s not the best solution if you stay only for a couple of days. In that case, I would go for a hotel. I usually avoid hostels because they always mean dorms to me, but if they have a private room with a private bathroom like the one I went to in Cordoba, I wouldn’t mind hostels either.

  7. D.J. - The World of Deej

    November 13, 2012 at 12:02 AM

    I am strictly a hotel guy, although I’ve stayed in a couple properties of late which are “condotels.” Condos that are run like hotels and rented out when the owners are away. Definitely have a few benefits.

  8. Salika Jay

    November 13, 2012 at 3:17 AM

    I prefer hotels, although if I’m staying at a city for more than few days, I’d go for apartments. I haven’t considered hostels though, mostly because I want privacy and my beauty sleep for happy traveling. Love the photos, especially the first one of you both 🙂

  9. Victor Tribunsky

    November 13, 2012 at 1:21 PM

    My choice is apartment. It is like my small home abroad.

  10. Jessica

    November 13, 2012 at 1:24 PM

    Another page for renting apt. is Airbnb.

  11. Joy

    November 14, 2012 at 2:21 PM

    I really enjoy hostels. You can’t beat the atmosphere, the price, and usually the food. I think even in my home country I might give hostels a try while traveling. I haven’t tried apartments yet but if I’m traveling with a small group of people already that sounds like the perfect place to stay. Thanks for comparing!

  12. Clay

    November 14, 2012 at 9:27 PM

    Thanks for sharing your thoughts on the topic, very useful!
    I personally think the apartment option is very interesting: it gives you the feeling to be a “real local” and allows you to some extent to understand what living in a specific place as a local tastes like

  13. Anna

    November 15, 2012 at 7:20 AM

    Great post! The face of hostels is changing as you guys mentioned. There are many with private room options that let you sleep but give you the hostel atmosphere. We are working on finding the best hostels and design centric accommodation with private rooms around the world for <$100/ night. Check it out!

    The Poshpacker

  14. ANGLO/Dale

    November 15, 2012 at 8:06 AM

    We’ve only rented an apartment on the one occasion & it was an absolute disaster. Description was wrong. Price was wrong leading to disagreements. Owner lied about facilities so we were without hot water for the entirety of our stay. Gutted.

    At least with a hostel if there’s no hot water then are are 20 other people to exchange the annoyance with. Saying that, we’ll have to try again for sure.

  15. Flashpacking RTW

    November 16, 2012 at 7:27 AM

    Give me a hotel 80% of the time, travelling on a budget though means you have to take best value depending on the destination, so apartments are great for long-term travellers. I’m just a sucker for luxury.

  16. Terry at Overnight New York

    November 16, 2012 at 11:36 PM

    Wish all hostels looked like your top picture!

  17. [email protected] The Philippines

    November 17, 2012 at 1:58 AM

    This post will really help travelers to determine what kind of accommodation they need. I’m particularly interested with apartments. It will make you feel like one of the locals because of the atmosphere and you can also save because you can cook your won food.

  18. The Traveling Fool

    November 17, 2012 at 8:36 AM

    I love staying in rented apartments. I have never rented out a room but usually go for the one bedroom or studio apartment. They are usually cheaper than hotels while being largwr and more comfortable.

  19. Ali

    November 19, 2012 at 2:40 PM

    For me it all depends on where I’m going and what the situation is. Price is a big factor, and also how long we will be there. If it’s just a few nights an inexpensive hotel or a private room in a hostel works well for me and Andy. But if we’re staying for a little longer, apartments are really great.

  20. Vicky

    November 20, 2012 at 1:55 PM

    We have been traveling just over 2 months already and have been splitting up our time between couchsurfing and hostels (with a couple hotels). When we started we mostly couchsurfed entirely through Japan and South Korea and it was awesome but got to be a little bit tiring, especially when we would be sharing a studio with someone else. In China we have been mostly staying at hostels but unfortunately none have had kitchens! We are going to look into testing our apartments soon because I love to cook and have been missing it on the road! It would be so nice to be able to wake up and make myself a hot egg breakfast the exact way I love it!

  21. Kieu

    November 20, 2012 at 10:08 PM

    Were Wimdu’ing across Eastern Europe! With one hostel due to last minute cancellation. Love it! 😀

  22. Bobbi Lee Hitchon

    November 20, 2012 at 11:00 PM

    I try to use all three. Back when I was a single and solo traveler, I only stayed in hostels, because they are usually cheaper for singles and as you mentioned, a great way to meet people. After I started traveling as a couple I did a mix a private hostel rooms and hotels. Honestly sometime I find hotels on Orbitz that are cheaper than ones on in hostels. I just recently tried renting an apartment and really like that as well. I think you picked out some good pros and cons, but like you say, all hostels, hotels and apartments are different. So I don’t think I would ever choose just one of these options. For me price and value is my biggest concern so I usually look through all three options to find what is the nicest property in my budget. On top of that, sometimes I just prefer one to another depending on what I am looking for in my destination. Great post though. I like how you compared the three and started a conversation about it. Nice to see what everyone else thinks 🙂

  23. LeX @ LeX Paradise

    November 21, 2012 at 3:26 PM

    If the financial is the not factor to decide where to stay, I would prefer Apartment! 😀

    But still hostel is usually much more cheaper! 😉

  24. Pingback: C'est vendredi! Édition du 23 novembre - Eille la cheap!

  25. Room Rent for Travellers

    November 24, 2012 at 6:13 AM

    I haven’t tried hostels but I’ll probably try this in the near future.

  26. Istanbul

    November 26, 2012 at 3:36 PM

    Great article for hostels ! Love it ! Thanks for sharing

  27. Suzzane from Travel Universally

    November 27, 2012 at 6:02 AM

    When It comes about cost saving, The hostels are the perfect choice. Though one may not find the premium comfort and privacy of Hotel in Hostel,The Hostel is perfect choice for the lonely Nomad like me. Thanks for the perfect comparison.

  28. The Time-Crunched Traveler (Ellen)

    November 29, 2012 at 1:50 AM

    Great post, guys. I love that you highlight the pros and cons of each. When we travel, we usually go for cheaper hotels or apartments, though we’ve been known to stay in hostels when it’s only for a few nights. It’s much tougher when you’re traveling as a couple than when you’re a single backpacker. You have to adjust your definition of “budget” travel with the cost of accommodation and now having to pay for two flights instead of just one!

  29. Arti

    December 5, 2012 at 8:32 AM

    A comprehensive post on the choices that a traveller has! We in India have another choice, quite a few temples offer rooms for stay. Though not all are good but some of them beat 5 star hotels easily. Plus the ambience is great!

    • Cole Burmester

      December 11, 2012 at 11:28 AM

      That is so cool that Temples offer rooms too. We really need to visit India sometime soon!

  30. Ian of Borderless Travels

    December 11, 2012 at 9:50 PM

    Great article! I prefer hostels myself noisy as they can be but Couchsurfing is still my fave. Do you guys ever use Couchsuring? It’s by far the cheapest accommodation for the budget traveler…free!

    • Cole Burmester

      December 12, 2012 at 1:38 AM

      We thought about including couchsurfing in the list but felt like it wasn’t fair as the majority of people will use hostels or hotels 🙂

  31. T.W. Anderson @ Marginal Boundaries

    December 12, 2012 at 8:20 AM

    Long-term apartment rentals for me. I don’t dig on hostels unless I’m with friends on a weekend outing, and hotels are a waste of money. I also don’t like CouchSurfing and staying with strangers 🙂

    And I live on the cheap. I have a nice, comfortable middle-class lifestyle and manage 650-800 a month (USD). My apartments are fully furnished and kitted out with Internet, AC, cable, etc., and I haven’t paid more than $400 a month for the past 5 years in Bulgaria, Colombia or Mexico. That comes out to around $13.50 per day for my accommodations. It’s even cheaper when the exchange rates are good 🙂

    • Cole Burmester

      December 12, 2012 at 8:49 AM

      Long term apartments are definitely the best option when you are travelling in the countries you are 😉 Can’t argue the logic though!

  32. Zorica

    December 23, 2012 at 2:45 PM

    Great article. Hostels can be good value for money but I think sometimes it’s worth to give some extra money for privacy!

    • Cole Burmester

      January 14, 2013 at 9:05 PM

      We often find that the longer we are travelling for then the more often we want our privacy. If it is a shorter trip then happy to go in dorms.

  33. Alexandra

    January 2, 2013 at 11:26 AM

    I think they all have their time and place! I stayed at a few hostel in Asia that had double beds in the dorms. That made it cheaper than having two beds in the dorm and still had the social aspect!

    My boyfriend and I are actually booked in a hostel dorm for 3 nights from now for our first stop, Mexico, in our 2013 RTW! I will say that after almost a year of not being in a dorm it does feel strange to know I will be sleeping with 8 other strangers in fa few nights 😉

    • Cole Burmester

      January 16, 2013 at 10:36 AM

      Hmmm be kind of weird I would have thought having double beds in the dorm rooms! Most dorm rooms are bad enough with all the couples getting it on haha. Good luck with your travels in 2013 🙂

  34. Esther

    January 25, 2013 at 2:05 PM

    When travelling alone couchsourfing is a good option too.

    • Cole Burmester

      January 25, 2013 at 4:45 PM

      I am ashamed to admit we haven’t ever couch-surfed! Our plans always change last minute so we never get around to it.

  35. Harriet Freeman

    May 8, 2013 at 10:10 AM

    A great article. Usually people go straight for hotels, but there are many options out there. Hostels don’t have the reputation that they once had, and as you say, apartments are becoming more and more popular.

    I don’t think there’s a “perfect accommodation type”… It really does depend on your needs.

    • Cole Burmester

      May 8, 2013 at 5:18 PM

      Depends on where you are as well. Sometimes a Hotel can be the same price as a Hostel which is ridiculous!

  36. saif anam

    June 22, 2013 at 7:52 AM

    hi great helpful post. i like to stay hostel. i like those hostel who has 100% safety,kitchen facilities.

  37. Sermin

    August 29, 2013 at 3:14 PM

    airbnb.com is a good site to find a place. Some people prepare a/few room(s) in their houses to rent for reasonable money. I haven’t found a chance to try it but I could find some good place to stay for my future destinations.I use app for i-phone

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Adventure Travel

Review: 10 Day Egypt Explorer Tour with Expat Explore

A comprehensive review of Expat Explores 10 Day Explorer Tour through the stunning country of Egypt.

Published

on

Expat Explore Group in Egypt

We have been wanting to visit Egypt for a while now so when the opportunity to get away over the Christmas and New Year period arose we knew we needed to head there for a break. We joined Expat Explore on their 10 Day Explorer Tour through Egypt taking in the sights of Cairo, Aswan, Luxor and Hurghada.

Expat Explore Group Photo

The reason we chose Expat Explore was that they were the cheapest in price with all the same sights and in the end we were happy with our choice.

Pre-departure they emailed us our itinerary with the optional excursions and additional costs for entry fees included so that we could budget properly. As well as following up with our pre-trip questions regarding flights, insurance and uhealth and safety advice.

From the start they were very professional. Landing in Cairo we were personally greeted the day before our tour and transported to our City centre hotel. That drive was an eye-opener to Egypt with crazy lane changes, honking, swerving, flashing lights with animals, people and vehicles everywhere.

El Tonsy Hotel is your base for your arrival and last night. Luckily we didn’t expect much as our door didn’t lock which was a bit dodgy and the rooms were freezing cold with a broken heater and only one blanket. You wouldn’t think you would need heat in Egypt but it was the middle of winter and it was chilly at night. No complaints with the location though as we could see the Pyramids in the distance and were only 5 minutes walk from the Nile and 15 minutes to Tahir Square (perfectly safe by the way). Plus they have a little bar/restaurant with cheap food and free Wi-Fi. Just buy your snacks and water from the supermarket across the road and you will get on fine.

El Tonsy Hotel View of Pyramids

It’s quite hard to break down a whole trip into one post but here goes:

Day One

Your tour starts with the best in my opinion by touring some sights of Cairo. The steeply angled Step Pyramid, mind-blowing Pyramids of Giza and the smaller than expected Sphinx. This day was definitely the highlight.

That night is spent aboard the train for 10-12 hours to Aswan. I highly recommend the Sleeper train for an extra £50 per person. Others that caught the standard train froze their butts off while we had a toasty sleep with a served dinner and breakfast. Unfortunately Expat Explore never told us about the provided food so we ate before we got on-board but what we could fit in was delicious.

Day Two

The tour splits in Aswan as one group embarks on a River Cruise aboard a 5 star ship while the others spend time in hotels and on a Felucca. No surprise that we went with the cheaper option aboard the Felucca so the next few days are from that point of view.

The afternoon is yours at Sara Hotel on the banks above the Nile. We lapped up the beautiful rays of the sun and managed to turn our pasty white bodies a more fitting slightly white shade. The Hotel was great until the toilet next-door erupted sending a river of smelly waste across our bedroom floor (throw your toilet paper in the bin not the loo)! Luckily we woke in time to rescue our bags from the watery mess! Not the fault of Expat Explore and we didn’t blame the Hotel either as shit happens.

Day Three

Your day begins by visiting the monstrous High Dam for 10 minutes (fairly boring) and a drive past the Unfinished Obelisk. While the highlight is definitely the Philae Temple. When the sunsets across the Nile reflecting off the stonework it really is quite magical.

Philae Temple Sunset

The evening ended with an optional dinner in a traditional Nubian families house. The food was scrumptious and you better bring your singing and dancing shoes.

Day Four

The following day and night is spent relaxing aboard the Felucca for a sail up the Nile for several hours. Sleeping no more than 8 people you will be snug if you bring your own sleeping bag like us. The rest of our crew were jealous as it did get quite chilly in the evening however blankets were provided.

With delicious pita bread and falafel cooked on the boat you will not be disappointed with the food either.

The day ends with a bonfire on the Nile shoreline as you sing and dance with the crazy fun Nubian crews. This was definitely one of the highlights of the entire trip for us.

Travel Tip: Don’t be put off by doing your “business” amongst the reeds of the Nile. Just enjoy the view and remember to bring your own toilet paper (which you need everywhere in Egypt anyway).

Felucca on the Nile

By all accounts, from the other tour members, the River Cruise is just as great with 3 nights on-board in comfortable accommodation, a pool and  buffets morning, noon and night.

Day Five

Waking to a sunrise breaking the morning chill is a glorious way to start a new day. Unfortunately there is little time for relaxation before you are off the Felucca and on a bus to Kom Ombu and Edfu Temples. I must say, all of the transportation was more than adequate with toilets on the buses and room enough for everyone. It’s lucky because you do spend the majority of the time being driven around.

The Lotus Hotel in Luxor was probably the pick of them all. Situated on the Nile bank with a swimming pool and tasty buffet breakfast.

Day Six

One more day, one more busy schedule. Rushing to beat the crowds at the Valley of the Kings it’s another 8am start. You are only allowed to visit three tombs and we recommend the guides picks which were Ramses II, IV and IX.

Travel Tip: You are NOT allowed to take your camera with you off the bus. Please don’t ruin it for everyone by taking photos as you will be charged by security when caught.

We also squeezed in the crowded rock carved Hatshepsut Temple but only drove past Luxor Temple as we ran out of time as you need to drive 6 hours to reach Hurghada that night.

Day Seven and Eight

The next two days at the Red Sea are yours to do whatever you like so use them wisely. We joined most of our group for a spot of snorkelling and diving. The dive and the staff were great but the whole day seemed a little rushed which was a shame. Keep an eye out for our post on our diving experience in Hurghada.

Diving in Hurghada on the Red Sea

So nice being able to relax on a beach and read a book after such a hectic schedule. It’s hard to leave and the 6 – 8 hour bus ride back to Cairo is tough.

Travel Tip: If you plan to do the tour over New Years Eve then you will have to depart Hurghada half a day early which sucked as it meant celebrating the New Year at the Hotel in Cairo. Bit of a let down but when hasn’t New Years Eve been!

Day Nine

Your final day of sightseeing is spent around Cairo. Our favourite part of the day was definitely the Cairo Museum with an excellent tour guide. It fits perfectly at the end by seeing all the history close-up after having learned about it over the last 8 days.

By the time we hit the old area of Cairo and the Coptic Hanging Church we were spent on history but our guide made a good effort at keeping us entertained.

The last group activity is free time for an hour or so at the Khan El Khalili souk markets where the touts try to prise your cash from you for the last time from every nook and cranny.

Day Ten

With the tour over it’s time to head home. Our flight was late the following night so we walked around the city and Souks on our own for the day. Expat Explore provides transport back to the airport which was great.

The Negatives

The trip was awesome but we think it’s important to note the little things that could make a huge difference to the overall experience:

  • It felt like we were always hungry. Maybe it is just Kiwi’s and Aussies that eat all the time but it seriously felt like we were constantly starving with lunches being served usually after 4pm and dinner at 9pm onwards. It might be the Egyptian way to eat at those times but not for us. Travel Tip: Buy lots of snacks for the road which are very cheap at supermarkets.
  • There was sometimes a lack of direction in what seemed to be happening. Everything is done on Egyptian time so be patient.
  • We were often delayed or behind schedule with little to no guidance as to how long it would take to get from place to place. A little knowledge goes a long was as then we can plan ahead.
  • More free time would be great to explore places on your own rather than have our hands held everywhere.

The Positives:

As we said above, the trip was amazing and the little positive things far outweighed the negatives which helped make it a memorable trip.

  • Pre-departure information and care was extremely good.
  • The tour was exceptional value for money and it was the cheapest tour we could find even though we still saw all the same sights the other groups did.
  • The guides were extremely knowledgeable and never failed to answer any questions we had. The insights into the daily lives of the people around us was a nice break from all the history. They also ensured you never felt unsafe or uncomfortable.
  • The Felucca trip was better than expected and overall so was the accommodation and transport options.

All in all we highly recommend you book with Expat Explore if you are considering a trip through Egypt.

Make sure you subscribe now and come back soon so you can enjoy reading our new posts which will cover everything else in more detail.

Disclaimer: Expat Explore provided us with a discount for our 10 day tour of Egypt however as always our thoughts are always our own.

Continue Reading

Reviews

Where to Get the Most for Your U.S. Dollar in 2018

Published

on

We all know that exchange rates change. But we don’t always think about those rates when we’re planning our next big adventure. As the value of the U.S. dollar changes, so does the buying power U.S. travelers when they’re abroad.

Sometimes those fluctuations are enough to warrant putting off a trip to one of your bucket list destinations for another year. Or maybe to bump an exotic locale to the top of the list so you can take advantage of the extra power your dollar will have while you’re there.

RewardExpert’s latest report looks at just that phenomenon by taking a deep dive into the changes in exchange rates over the last year. And their conclusion? You may want to start looking for a flight to some destinations right now, while other vacation spots are best saved for another day.

  • A Little Context

Before we get too far into the findings, it’s worth noting that the differences in exchange rates over the past year haven’t been big enough to justify jumping on the next flight to a destination whose currency has lost a lot of value.

On the other hand, if both Turkey and Thailand, for example, are on your list of places you want to see, Turkey’s a better choice at the moment since the dollar has gained about 28 percent in value over the last year. Thailand’s currency, on the other hand, has gotten about 6 percent more expensive.

By the way, Turkey made the top spot on the report for places that have gotten more affordable, and Thailand earned the top spot for places that have gotten more expensive.

All of this, of course, is relative to each country’s currency. So overall affordability of a destination is largely independent of changes in the exchange rate. In other words, it’s still cheaper to travel in Botswana than Switzerland even though the Swiss franc lost value against the U.S. dollar and the Botswana Pula is worth more.

  • The Dollar Has Lost Ground Overall

On the whole, the U.S. dollar hasn’t done very well recently. There could be any number of reasons for this, but the unpredictability of the current President and his trade policies certainly don’t help.

This is generally bad news for U.S. travelers. Most places you might be thinking about going will be a bit more expensive. It’s not in a free fall, though, and the drop shouldn’t be enough to keep you from traveling.

  • Where You Should Go in 2018

As I already mentioned, Turkey topped the list of destinations where the U.S. dollar has gained the most value. In fact, it is the place that saw the most change, either positive or negative.

The U.S. dollar will buy about 28 percent more in Turkey right now, so if you’ve always wanted to see the country—and you’re not too concerned about the current political situation over there—now’s probably a good time to plan a trip.

Mexico made number two on the list with the U.S. dollar gaining about 7% in value. And a flight from the U.S. to Mexico will be a whole lot cheaper than to any other spot on the list.

Rounding out the top places you should consider this year if you want your dollar to stretch a little further is Kazakhstan, Nepal, Indonesia, Sri Lanka, Switzerland and New Zealand. Hong Kong and Trinidad and Tobago also made the top ten, but the changes in their exchanges rates were very minor, coming in at less than 1 percent.

Here’s an overview of the top ten:

Increase in Value of U.S. Dollar
Turkey28.39%
Mexico7.15%
Kazakhstan5.68%
Nepal5.10%
Indonesia4.54%
Sri Lanka3.57%
Switzerland1.65%
New Zealand1.32%
Hong Kong0.66%
Trinidad and Tobago0.02%

  • Places You Might Want to Skip This Year

I’m sure Thailand is on many lists of dream destinations, but 2018 might not be the best time to go. It made the top spot for places that have gotten more expensive due to a drop in the value of the U.S. dollar. You’ll get about 6% less for your money if you travel there now compared to last year.

Croatia stunned soccer/football fans everywhere by making it to World Cup final, but you may want to put off a trip to the idyllic coasts of this Eastern European spot. That’s because the Croatian Kuna has gained about 4 percent against the USD this past year.

The rest of the top ten that have gotten more expensive includes Canada, Bulgaria, the European Union, Botswana, South Korea, Singapore, Romania and Australia.

Here’s an overview of the spots you may want to skip this year:

Decrease in Value of the U.S. Dollar
Thailand-5.85%
Croatia-4.16%
Canada-3.96%
Bulgaria-3.81%
The European Union-3.76%
Botswana-3.73%
South Korea-3.55%
Singapore-3.25%
Romania-1.82%
Australia-1.79%

 

  • Other Tips for Making Your Dollar Go Further

One big takeaway from the report is that the biggest expense when it comes to travel to most of these destinations is the airfare. That’s particularly true of the countries that are harder to get to, but otherwise offer affordable travel. From the list of places where the dollar gained notable ground, I’d include Nepal, Sri Lanka, Turkey, Indonesia and Kazakhstan in that category.

If you’re thinking of traveling to one of those destinations, you should consider staying for as long as possible to get the most out of that expensive plane ticket. Once you’re there, you’ll find that your daily  costs will be relatively little compared to, say, Switzerland, Australia, New Zealand, Canada and the European Union.

  • Travel Credit Cards Can Help

Since airfare is often the most expensive single purchase you’ll make for a trip, it’s worth noting that getting a great rewards credit card can help cover those costs. If you play your cards right, you can easily cover the entire cost of your airfare with the right card.

If you’re familiar with frequent flyer programs, a card that’s part of a robust rewards program, like Chase Ultimate Rewards, American Express Membership Rewards and Citi ThankYou Rewards, is a great option. With those programs you can transfer the points you earn directly to a select group of airlines or book through the programs’ respective online travel portals.

Beginners and those who don’t want to deal with complicated award charts and limited award availability might be better off with a more straight forward travel card, like those offered by Discover and Capital One.

With those programs, you’ll earn miles that can be redeemed for statement credits to offset travel expenses. That means you can simply buy the travel you want from any vendor and reimburse yourself with the miles you’ve earned. You might not get quite as much from your points with a program like this, but they are simple, easy to use and still quite valuable.

  • Bottom Line

Traveling is expensive. So it can be important to get as much as you can for your dollar. Hopefully I’ve given you some ideas about the destinations you should prioritize and avoid this year based on recent changes in exchange rates. And don’t forget, a great travel credit card can help you pay for the most expensive part of many adventures—the airfare.

Continue Reading

Reviews

Bullion Bar: Try Your Luck Online

Published

on

Slot games have become synonymous with gambling and casino. They provide players the chance to earn big while betting small amounts of money. And it is for this reason that the lure of trying to cash in big on slot games have become somewhat of a tradition for casino and everything casinos-related.

What do we mean by this?

Well, online slot games have seen a massive amount of love from players all around the world. Not only are the simple to play and easy to start earning money but they also offer quite the gambling experience. And it’s for this reason that they are one of the primary online casino games for newbies as well as longtime gamblers.

So if you are new to the whole online gambling casino slot world let us introduce you to this insanely enjoyable slot game called Bullion Bar.

With online slot games having a high RTP – you have very little to lose and so much more to gain.

Bullion Bars: Try Your Luck

Like many online casino slot games, the Bullion Bar has an RTP that is quite high. Meaning the amount of times the online casino game has to pay out to its player is above 95.27%. This means that you have a very high chance of earning money online while gambling and Bullion Bars provides this for their players.

Aside from the high chances that players are given – players are also given a nice cash jackpot prize for the lucky ones. The jackpot prize sits at about £20000 jackpot (roughly $40000 USD. Not too shabby).

The game allows players to wage as low as £0.4 and as high as £2 per line.

The Visuals

As mentioned before one of the best aspects outside of the monetary reason that one may come to play online slot games also are the aesthetics. Bullion Bar provides a fantastic visually stunning slot game that not only escalates the experience and the “gamblers rush” but also makes slots games much more engaging and enjoyable overall.

Why Not Give It a Try?

If you are new to online slot games, then Bullion Bar is a great online slot ahem for you to test the waters. Offering players a high RTP, visuals that will leave the player captivated and a gameplay that is very engaging and immersive – do we have to ask?

What are you waiting for? Try your luck with Bullion Bar.

Continue Reading

Meet Cole and Adela

Cole and AdelaWe have been wearing out our jandals (Kiwi for flip-flops) on our travel adventures around the world since 2009. We think our blog is thought provoking and a little witty. But we have been proven wrong before. Find out more about us here...

New on Four Jandals

What Are You Looking For?

Subscribe

Trending