Connect with us

Europe

Busabout Sail Turkey Review

A comprehensive Busabout Sail Turkey review of the 8 day Busabout Sail Turkey cruise along the stunning Mediterranean coastline.

Published

on

Busabout Sail Turkey

Are there any better ways to explore the Turkish coastline in the Mediterranean Sea than living on board a traditional Turkish Gulet for an 8 Day Sail Turkey cruise? Well we didn’t think so when we first booked our trip and hopefully our Busabout Sail Turkey review will help you choose your next adventure too.

Busabout Sail Turkey Review

Swimming off our Busabout Sail Turkey Gulet

Busabout Sail Turkey Review

Before we booked we did hold a few reservations. We had heard stories from friends about how Sail Croatia, which we were tossing up whether to do or not, can be a real booze cruise. While we love having a few cold ones as much as the next Kiwi we were not that keen on blowing all our money on booze. Plus we didn’t want to spend our days hungover not being able to enjoy some travel adventures.

So when we booked we expected that this would be quite similar. Especially considering we had just been to ANZAC Day in Gallipoli and knew there would be lots of Kiwi’s and Aussies heading to the Turkish coast to lap up some sunshine.

Busabout Sail Turkey Pre-departure

This is the first year that Busabout have run the Sail Turkey adventure and so at the moment it is really cheap.

We were on the first trip of the season as well so £299 per person is great value in our opinion considering that you get 7 nights of accommodation and all of your meals included.

Booking through Busabout proved to be really easy and they were wonderful to deal with. We especially like that you can go on the Busabout website and see who else is on your trip through their MyTrip tab. It allows you to send messages to the other travellers to arrange things like airport transfers or meet ups before your trip if you want.

They also have options through their partner, V-Go, in Turkey. Although we stayed elsewhere in Fethiye which worked out a bit cheaper. It seemed like most people stayed there before their trip although we met a bunch of travellers before we went at our accommodation too.

The trip is from Saturday afternoon to the following Saturday morning. With the last night actually parked at the docks in Fethiye harbour so you really only have 6 nights along the Turkish coastline.

Busabout Sail Turkey

Our awesome crew! Busabout Sail Turkey Review

The Busabout Sail Turkey Trip

We met up with everyone at 4pm at the Busabout headquarters in Fethiye and they split our group of 35 into two groups. Each Turkish Gulet, which is a traditional two-masted wooden sailing vessel, has a crew of three and sleeps 18 guests on board. As a couple we were lucky that we had our own double bed in a room while some rooms had to share with three people on bunk beds.

Busabout Sail Turkey Review

Paddling in the gorgeous Turkish Water

Every room comes with an ensuite. Just be careful that you don’t flush your toilet paper down the loo because just like on land in Turkey the system cannot handle it. You have to place everything in the waste bin next to the toilet.

The rooms are tiny but who wants to spend time in their rooms when you are on a boat in the Mediterranean Sea?

Every night we expected to park up next to the other boat and tie up together. This didn’t happen though and instead we would park about 100m apart. I guess for safety reasons but it would have been nice to be able to mingle with the other boat properly every now and then.

However it was probably for the best because we definitely were on the quieter boat. Sure we enjoyed a few beers every night and had a couple of bigger party nights but we didn’t go overboard (excuse the pun). In comparison, the other boat drank up a storm. There were a couple of dudes crushing beer cans at the breakfast table!

The mornings would usually begin slowly with the Captain getting an early start driving us to another bay along the Turkish coastline. As we would all slowly emerge on to the deck into the bright sunlight we would be dropping anchor somewhere new for our breakfast usually around 8.30am.

For a couple of hours we would lounge around on the decks playing backgammon or cards. Or just relax with a good book in hand. Once it got too hot for us to lie out in the sun we would spend the time diving off the boat and cooling off in the pristine turquoise waters.

Simena Village, Busabout Sail Turkey Review

Busabout Sail Turkey Review – Simena Village

The afternoons would be spent visiting one of the small villages dotted along the coast or again go exploring the shoreline from the water. Evenings would again bring us all together over a few beers. We couldn’t get any more relaxed if we tried!

Busabout Sail Turkey Review

Relaxing onboard with snacks, beer and backgammon

The Food onboard

Simple but delicious is the only way to describe the food on the boat. We were just stoked it was mostly traditional Turkish food. For example the breakfast would be cheeses, cucumbers, tomatoes, eggs, bread, honey and jam. Not to mention the tea and coffee on demand.

Lunches and dinners were fairly similar and would usually be rice and pasta with really tasty roast vegetables or stews. Stuffed roasted capsicums and couscous! My mouth is watering just reliving the meals. We were also lucky to have fresh fish a couple of nights which was awesome.

All our meals were served around the huge dining table at the back of the boat. It was one of our favourite times as we would all come together every few hours and jokes would fly and shit-talked.

Busabout Sail Turkey Review Food

Busabout Sail Turkey Review – The Food

The Negatives

As we said, this was definitely one of the best trips we have ever done so far on our adventures around the world however it wasn’t all smooth sailing:

  • We wish there had been more information about the optional excursions. Nearly every day we were offered the chance to visit small villages, try adventures like Para-sailing or explore Turkish historical sites. Unfortunately with the limited English from the crew we had no idea the costs of the activities or what was involved.
    Note: At least Busabout has assured us that following our feedback they have now included more information on each boat about these activities.
  • As before, we wish we had a chance to socialise with the other boat a little bit more. Not every night but a few nights during the trip would have been good.
  • “Sail Turkey” should probably be called “Motor Turkey” as there is not a lot of sailing involved. Didn’t really bother us as the crew couldn’t handle it. But it would have been great to do a bit more than the two hours we did.
  • The final negative is that on the second-to-last day our Captain was fired. We still don’t know the reason why or what happened but it sucked as we all thought our Captain was awesome.  Not really Busabouts fault either as it wasn’t their decision but actually the company they lease the boats from.

Like we said, not too many negatives!

Make sure you check out some of our favourite Busabout Sail Turkey photos from our trip here as well to check out the sights. And if you want to book a Sail Turkey trip or any other Busabout adventures then click our affiliate link below.

Disclaimer: We were provided with a discount for the Busabout Sail Turkey cruise, however, as always our thoughts on our adventure travel blog our own.

Cole is one half of New Zealand's leading adventure travel blogging couple who have been wearing out their jandals around the world since 2009. He loves any adventure activities and anything to do with the water whether it is Surfing, Diving, Swimming, Snorkeling or just lounging nearby on the beach. You can follow Cole on Google+. Or consider following us via RSS Feed, Twitter, Facebook and subscribe to our Newsletter.

Continue Reading
36 Comments

36 Comments

  1. Bret@ Green Global Travel

    May 14, 2012 at 2:52 PM

    Sounds like a fun trip, those few negatives aside. Mary has been dreaming of sailing around the Mediterranean for years, so hopefully we’ll get a chance to see Turkey, Greece, etc. next year.

    • Cole Burmester

      May 14, 2012 at 4:37 PM

      Let us know if you go and we will be keen to join you guys! Do you think we could convince the Sea Shepherd to take us around 😉

  2. Stephanie - The Travel Chica

    May 14, 2012 at 3:10 PM

    Sounds like a fun time. A little weird that the Captain was fired and that the passengers actually knew about it… those things should be discreet whatever the reason.

    • Cole Burmester

      May 14, 2012 at 4:35 PM

      It was really bizarre. Especially since it was the second to last day. You think they would just carry on. Credit to Busabout though that it wasn’t their decision but actually the company they lease the boats from.

  3. Ali

    May 14, 2012 at 3:24 PM

    Overall sounds like a pretty good trip. It’s good that your review helped them provide better information going forward.

  4. Christy @ Technosyncratic

    May 15, 2012 at 1:21 AM

    Wow, only 300 pounds for a full week? That’s a steal! We’d definitely consider doing this someday, although it is a bummer that there isn’t more actual sailing.

    • Cole Burmester

      May 15, 2012 at 9:13 AM

      We were hoping for more Sailing but I think it is too much work and just easier to motor everywhere. You don’t cover huge distances either with only about 1 – 2 hours driving a day. £299 for a week but goes up during peak season in the middle of summer. Would recommend the shoulder season as it would be too hot otherwise!

  5. Raymond @ Man On The Lam

    May 15, 2012 at 5:08 AM

    I would love to do this 8 day trip. Is it BYOB?

    • Cole Burmester

      May 15, 2012 at 9:14 AM

      Strictly not BYO. But Efes (beers) are only 6 Turkish Lira each. Our bar tab between 2 came to about £150 after the week. Some dudes on the other boat had a £500 tab each though!

  6. Natalie

    May 15, 2012 at 5:49 AM

    I agree with Stephanie, the customers should not know about the captain being fired. Shame you did not know about the little excursions as well, because there are so many delights on the coastline. All in all though, it sounds like you had a fab time for a very good price.

    • Cole Burmester

      May 15, 2012 at 9:15 AM

      They have changed the information at least so that is good. And while it was not Busabouts fault he was fired (separate companies) it shouldn’t of happened in front of us.

  7. Angela

    May 15, 2012 at 1:29 PM

    Wow, it looks amazing swimming there!

    • Cole Burmester

      May 15, 2012 at 7:39 PM

      The water was really amazing! Just wish it had been a degree or two warmer.

  8. LozinTransit

    May 16, 2012 at 7:04 PM

    Hmmm… Wow! So I guess they make their money on the beer tab then. That’s a pretty hefty amount for the quiet boat, not to mention the £500. I went to Fethiye during the low season which isn’t so bad, there’s definitely a different energy to a place when the party people descend upon it.
    An experience worth having.

    • Cole Burmester

      May 18, 2012 at 2:04 PM

      Apparently the crew basically only makes money on the trip if we drink a lot. Since we liked them all a lot we decided to drink lots to pay them back 🙂

  9. Trudy Florence

    June 5, 2012 at 11:20 AM

    We did the Busabout Croatia sail last summer and that was amazing, like you we were so glad we were on the ‘quieter’ boat. The other boat had a group of Aussie girls drinking 24/7 and even putting on live sex shows on the deck… not really my idea of a relaxing time! We had an amazing group of people who I’m still in close contact with. Turkey has been on the list for awhile so I’m keen to check this one out, I wonder if it’s still on sale – off to investigate!!

    • Cole Burmester

      June 5, 2012 at 4:28 PM

      Hmmm the “live sex shows” are definitely a bit much! Why is it that when people go on holiday they also leave their inhibitions behind? So disgusting most of the time.
      Definitely book through our link if you want to go Trudy 🙂

  10. Nick Paul

    July 3, 2012 at 3:23 PM

    Thanks for the honest review! I’ve been eyeing this trip for some time now, just a bit worried it will be too much of a party boat and not a chilled experience. I’m young but work a fairly stressful job, so the idea of 7 sleepless nights while on holiday doesn’t appeal to me. I’m keen to relax as much as possible. What do you think? Good idea, or bad idea?

    • Cole Burmester

      July 3, 2012 at 7:02 PM

      Hey Nick thanks for dropping by. Our boat was not really a party boat so it was really chilled out and we loved it! The other boat seemed to be a bit more intense but that’s just the way it is sometimes. But both boats were a lot more relaxed compared to Sail Croatia. The Sail Turkey parties happen on the boats and you don’t dock every night so its more fun in that respect. Plus you can head down to your cabins where its quiet whenever you want. Let us know how you get on and click on the link if you want to book 🙂

  11. Hannah

    October 10, 2012 at 4:27 AM

    I’ve been looking at this tour for some time. Love the review. I’m going to Europe next year as a solo traveler, do you think this trip is good for someone on their own?
    Hannah 🙂

    • Cole Burmester

      October 10, 2012 at 10:27 AM

      Hey Hannah, thanks for stopping by and checking out the review. Definitely do it as a Solo Traveller! Adela’s sister did it after us on her own and absolutely loved it 🙂 Have you seen the hop-on/hop-off tours that Busabout runs around Europe. That way you can meet other travellers in a friendly environment as well. Can check it out here – Busabout

  12. Jia Lin Luo

    December 13, 2012 at 6:28 AM

    Thanks so much for the review! I’m just about to book for one of next year’s cruises, I was worried whether or not the first trip of the season would be too cold but from what you guys are saying it seems fine. Like some of the previous comments, I too am a bit worried about it being a booze cruise; I like to have a good time and all but not a big drinker and not looking to get smashed all the time. Any tips on maybe picking the quieter boat?

    • Cole Burmester

      December 13, 2012 at 8:56 AM

      Thanks for dropping a comment 🙂 It was definitely warm enough in April for it. I think mid/late May would be perfect as one of our friends did it at the end of July and she said it was wayyyy too hot! Not everyone boozed on the other boat, there just seemed to be more of them. I am pretty sure when you book with Busabout you can leave a comment asking them to put you on a quieter boat too. They are really nice to deal with before your trip and will help out as much as possible.
      All we ask is you book through our link on the page. Doesn’t cost you any extra but gives us a little bonus as affiliates 🙂 Let us know if you go because we want to hear about it!!!

      • Lachie

        February 11, 2013 at 8:29 PM

        Hi there,

        Review sounds great, I’m probably a bit more geared towards doing this trip as a party trip though, crushing beers at the breakfast table etc haha. My friends have already booked and I’m just weighing it up now. Of the 8 nights how many are you in a port where you can go ashore to party it up to the wee small hours? The trip itself sounds like it will really suit me during the daytime hours I’d just love it push on a bit after dark each night.

        • Cole Burmester

          February 12, 2013 at 8:17 AM

          Hey mate. This trip only stops twice to go ashore for a few brews at night. However they do party pretty hard all night on the boats, which I enjoyed more anyway. Also all the boats are in the same bays so you can mix it up on other boats etc.
          The Sail Croatia cruises are the ones that pull into port every night and you might prefer those, but definitely don’t discount Sail Turkey!

  13. Amity

    April 3, 2013 at 12:06 PM

    I just booked this trip for late May this year. Can’t wait to escape cold London for a week on a boat 🙂

    Just wondering what the power supply was like on the boat, I read on V-Go’s website that you can only charge cameras etc when the boat is docked to land. Was this ever an issues? Thinking I may invest in a spare camera battery.

    Thanks for the blog, gave me a great idea of what to expect!

    • Cole Burmester

      April 4, 2013 at 8:19 AM

      We went at the end of April and it was already so hot! You will love it Amity 😉
      For the power supply we had no problems charging everything from phones to camera batteries. Most of the time you are using the motor so there wasn’t a problem with charging things. Just a limited number of plugs. We always carry spare batteries anyway just in case 😉

  14. Ricardo

    April 12, 2013 at 1:40 AM

    This all sounds so great. I am heading for Fethiye in a few weeks to look at properties. Hopefully I will be able to go on one of these boats next year, once I am permanently established there. Have been to Turkey many times (my friend is Turkish), and cannot wait to start this wonderful adventure… retiring to Turkey!!! Just turned 51, so hope to be on ok shape for a few years to enjoy my life in Turkey!!!

    • Cole Burmester

      April 12, 2013 at 9:45 AM

      Exploring the coastline by boat is a great option. Hope you find a wonderful new home too!

  15. Jon

    May 29, 2013 at 12:41 AM

    Hi Cole,

    Just read your review, I’m very tempted to book the trip in August 13′. Me & a mate, both single teachers, 27 & 29 are looking for a blend of chilling, sunbathing, swimming & will be keen to drink most nights, some till the early hours. Having said this, would you recommend this trip to us? Also what are the average age range and boy to girl ratio’s on the boats?

    Regards,

    Jon.

    • Cole Burmester

      May 31, 2013 at 12:52 PM

      Definitely recommend it Jon. Loads of fun and lots of drinking if you want to do it. Plus plenty of relaxing time too in the sun. August will be scorching!
      At least 2:1 Girls to Guys as well so that works in your favour 😉

  16. Kirsty J

    July 7, 2014 at 2:57 PM

    Hey ya,

    Thanks for the review. We are going in August this year, and as you can imagine the price has gone up since 2012. I’ve seen you have to buy booze and water on board, so just wondering how easy is it to bring that on yourself (esp water!) if your discreet enough and within reason..

    Thanks,
    Kirsty

  17. Kirsty M

    February 16, 2015 at 2:33 AM

    Hey

    I just thought id add to this message after doing the busabout turkey trip. It wasnt worth the money we paid for it and we got 20% off the price. Busabout sublet to a turkish company and dont have guide like on the croatian sails (if you’ve done them). We were really disspointed with the tour and even complained as there were several ‘hidden’ costs eg. when we stopped at a port one day, which was miles from the town, we were told (once we had all boarded this mini bus/shuttle) that we needed to pay the driver to get into town. No other options were given – lunch wasnt provided that day even though it was stated on the itinerary. You cant lock the doors to your cabins and the crew went into our rooms and took any booze we had brought on boardl even if you werent going to drink it. Again we complained and nothing came of it.

    I wouldnt recommed pre booking a company do to a turkish sail – you can basically turn up and book a few days beforehand. Obviously a lot has changed since 2012 and its quite a shame. I’ve done a lot of busabout tours and I was ashamed at this sail.

    Kirsty

    • Rebecca Barlow

      February 19, 2015 at 5:38 PM

      Hi Kristy,

      That is a shame to hear that you were disappointed with your Busabout sail Turkey trip. Moss and I recently did the trip ourselves in August 2014, however our guide was very informative and clear about the ‘hidden’ costs you have mentioned. For example, we were given the choice of catching the shuttle bus and everyone on the boat voted to give the chef a break and go buy our own lunch. I can understand why you were disappointed though, every penny counts when you are travelling on a budget!

      Thank you for your honest feedback, and for any one considering Sail Turkey, you can read the post from our August 2014 adventure. Simply use the search bar at the top of the page and search ‘sail turkey’ 🙂

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Europe

Amsterdam Food Guide

If you think of Amsterdam you don’t think of food. However if you try the food here in our Amsterdam food guide you might get lucky.

Published

on

By

Amsterdam Food Waffles

We are total foodies and our travelling has allowed our passion for food to grow considerably (not to mention our waist lines)!  We love trying new food when we visit foreign countries and always make a huge effort to eat the local cuisine. Check out some of the food we ate below in our cheap and delicious Amsterdam Food Guide.

Amsterdam Food Waffles

We had heard from a number of people that the Amsterdam food was nothing to rave about. To be honest food was not really our main interest in visiting but then again neither was an Amsterdam Peep show and we ended up enjoying that!

However we were pleasantly surprised. I think the people whom we had talked to had it wrong. Sure Holland doesn’t really have a local cuisine but once we got over this fact we realised there is still some damn good food to be had from the various Amsterdam Restaurants.

Amsterdam Food

The best meal we had was actually next door to the Red Light district in Chinatown. Crossing the canal to the east away from the neon lights your nostrils are attacked and your mouth begins salivating from the delicious smells wafting along the narrow cobbled streets.

As we walked into Bird Thai restaurant the enticing aroma hit us instantly leaving us drooling in anticipation. It was definitely up there with some of the best Thai food we have had. We went for the classic Green curry, fried rice and duck combo.

The Green curry was so flavoursome with the richness of the coconut milk blending perfectly with the traditional spices.  The duck was cooked to perfection and for the first few minutes of the meal all you could hear was the crunching of the crispy outside layer as we devoured the duck in minutes. Needless to say the fried rice was a taste explosion too!

Cheap and delicious Amsterdam food is easy to come by. With hangovers and munchies affecting your hunger it is no surprise that there are an abundance of Fast Food chains and takeaways in Amsterdam. In fact it was actually more the way that the fast food was served that surprised us as you could buy it out of massive vending machines at Febo!

Amsterdam Food Febo

Hidden workers stand behind the vending machines churning out burgers, fries and sausage rolls so all you has to do is insert a Euro and “hey presto” you have a hot meal in your hungry hands.

Then there were the frites stores which seemed to be on every corner. The first thing you noticed about these was the tantalising smell. There is nothing like the smell of chips straight out of the fryer and covered in salt to get you tummy rumbling. Served in a triangle cardboard carton and covered in mayo which meant that that you couldn’t reach the chips at the bottom without covering your greedy fingers in sauce. Just a tad annoying!

But there is nothing like hot chips to warm you up on a cold day.

Finally, while hot chocolates are not typically food I feel they still deserve a mention especially because the usually come paired with waffles! Ahhhh the perfect breakfast.

Amsterdam Hot Chocolate

We loved nipping into a cafe or bar like Cafe Bar Eddy in Amsterdam to warm ourselves up with a hot chocolate. It literally tasted like they had melted chocolate down and added cream. Heaven in a cup. And the choice of waffles was daunting as you could have whatever you wanted. Fruit, chocolate, syrups, cream or all of the above!

If you are heading here then don’t expect to find an array of traditional Amsterdam food. Instead treat yourself to a hot chocolate and waffle for breakfast, grab a quick bite from a vending machine and sample some of the different cuisines found near the Red Light District.

If you stick to this Amsterdam food guide then your taste buds will have a great holiday too!

If you have visited before then what did you think of Amsterdam food?

Continue Reading

Europe

How to smoke weed in Amsterdam

Check out our guide for the first timer in Amsterdam visiting a coffeeshop.

Published

on

How to smoke weed in Amsterdam

Before getting started I just want to clarify that we are not drug users. We don’t condone using illegal drugs. And we are not telling you to go and smoke weed in Amsterdam. BUT, our goal of this travel blog is to help advise, educate and provide travel tips for ALL situations. So if you are headed to Amsterdam then we hope our guide to smoking weed in Amsterdam will help you out.

And check out this smoker friendly accommodation for your next trip.

How to smoke weed in Amsterdam Coffeeshop

When you tell people that you are visiting Amsterdam then they immediately think of one thing and one thing only. Weed. Dope. Herb. Buds. Spliff. Whacky Tobbacky. Pot. Marijuana. Cannabis. 

Call it what you will but just know that the biggest name for it is “ILLEGAL”.

Yes it is actually illegal to smoke weed in Amsterdam. But for now the Netherlands government do tolerate smoking in designated “coffeeshops”. This is slowly changing as the Government tries to moderate the tourism drug trade and in 2013 there will be new laws which we won’t go in to now as they are continuously changing.

In the meantime if you obey the rules, are not a moron and use our guide to smoking weed in Amsterdam then you are going to be fine.

Smoke weed in Amsterdam

How to smoke weed in Amsterdam

Don’t smoke weed in Amsterdam in public such as on the streets. There are over 300 designated coffee shops where you are tolerated to smoke weed. These places are regulated and everything is done in the open.

Don’t get confused and try to smoke in a koffiehuis (coffee house) which sells coffee and light meals or a café that is a casual restaurant and/or bar.

The coffeeshops are super easy to spot with marijuana leaves in the windows and Bob Marley paintings on the doors. Not to mention the smell wafting through the cold breeze. There will also be the usual tourists that have stupidly over-indulged and are glassy eyed.

We visited one of the five Bulldog coffeeshops when we were in Amsterdam and had no complaints. We even enjoyed a delicious hot chocolate while we were there!

Bulldog Coffeeshop in Amsterdam

Buying weed in Amsterdam

As long as you are over 18 then you will be allowed to buy up to 5 grams of weed in the regulated coffeeshops. Plus you have the added security knowing that your marijuana is not going to be laced with anything else if you are attempting to buy it off someone on the street. And who knows, they might be setting you up to get busted.

We were (and are) total amateurs and had no idea what to do once we actually stepped foot in the coffeeshop. But quickly sussed it out. There will generally be a “dealer bar” with full menu’s and everything for you to choose. So if you are an expert you will probably know what to order! Prices will of course vary by quantity (grams, bags, individual joints) and quality.

For a beginner ask lots of questions. Don’t be shy like we were. Ask the staff what they recommend and what effects each type has. They will know then that you are a newbie and will guide you. Just know that they are very accustomed to tourists who don’t know exactly how to go about the whole process.

What we found out is that it is actually perfectly fine for you to visit other coffeeshops and smoke weed that you have already purchased somewhere else. However, it is considered rude not to at least buy a hot chocolate or coffee if you do this. Coffeeshops do also have some of the best coffee in Amsterdam.

How to smoke weed in Amsterdam

Don’t be an idiot

Number 1 rule: Don’t smoke too much weed in Amsterdam! Even if you are a pot loving hippie from a commune you are probably going to find the marijuana really strong in Amsterdam. Just take it slow.

If you are enjoying a drink as well then again take it easy with the booze. All the coffeshops won’t sell you beer as well as cannabis.

EAT! Don’t go drinking and smoking on an empty stomach as cannabis lowers your blood sugar level and this can turn a fun day into a disaster if you haven’t eaten recently. Check out our Amsterdam Food Guide for some quick eating tips here.

A final word of warning, please watch out for the spacecake! Eating cannabis will knock you on your ass and is much stronger than when smoked.

Finally, enjoy yourselves and for goodness sake obey the rules, laws and customs while you are smoking weed in Amsterdam.

If you have an addiction to drugs then reach out and seek some help.

Check out these Weed Products for your next travel adventure.

Continue Reading

Europe

Four Jandals Visits an Amsterdam Peep Show

Have you ever wanted to visit an Amsterdam peep show? We had the chance to go and embraced it with open arms. Check out our experience here

Published

on

Amsterdam peep show Sex Palace

An Amsterdam peep show is a must, just like visiting the Eiffel Tower in Paris. Okay slightly different. But you have got to go!

And if you have ever wanted to visit Amsterdam then more than likely you are going to be interested in checking out a peep show in the red light district. It might be worthwhile checking out this Amsterdam’s Red Light District – The ultimate guide.

Amsterdam Moulin Rouge Red Light District

There is something about the red light district that draws the punters and tourists alike in. Maybe it is the bright red neon lights that illuminate the darkened alleyways that pull them in like moths to a flame. Or the bars and coffee shops that let a certain smell waft lazily across the glistening canals.

Or maybe it is just the fact that sex really does sell.

When we visited Amsterdam with a couple of friends we actually spent what I now consider an embarrassingly long time in that same area. The fact is that we seriously could not get enough.

Not like that of course!

We just couldn’t believe that everyone is so open and carefree about what is for all intents and purposes, window shopping for sex. The number of guys knocking on windows and being ushered behind the curtains of every room were staggering.

However, we were not enticed ourselves to fork over $50 euros but were intrigued enough to want to check out an Amsterdam peep show. I just want to clarify here that it was actually Adela that was the most keen. I just didn’t want to let her down so went along with it…

Amsterdam Red Light District

http://www.flickr.com/photos/shaynekaye/4792525797

Visiting the Amsterdam peep show

Much to our surprise, there is only one Amsterdam peep show left in the whole city back in 2012!

The very originally named “Sex Palace” is situated on the banks of one of the main canals in the heart of the red light district on Oudezijds Achterburgwal street. Walking under the neon flashing lights into the entrance way your senses are assaulted by sights, sounds and disturbingly smell.

All around the walls are posters and screens showing ladies in various states of undress and positions. A white board lists the movies that you can rent out for your viewing pleasure in one of the many private booths. But we were only there for one thing:

The circular structure sitting slightly to the left of the entrance with a dozen small doors along it’s walls. 

Each of those small doors lead into equally small rooms no larger than a traditional UK phone box. A small covered viewing window blocks your view forward.

The money box clinging to the wall to operate the viewing window only accepts coins. But don’t worry if you only have notes as they handily have a large coin machine dishing out $2 euro coins for ease of watching.

Once you close the door and chuck in your money, the viewing window pops open for 2 minutes and allows you to view the large, slowly-rotating stage on which a scantily-dressed woman displays herself. With her flexibility she could have represented any country in the upcoming Olympics!

Amsterdam peep show Sex Palace

http://www.flickr.com/photos/mattmangum/2301545978

I was cracking up laughing the entire time I was in there because you can actually just make out the rest of the “audience” in the opposite booths. I even got a little wave and smile as the girl slowly revolved past my window.

The Amsterdam peep show was a little bit creepy. But even though we were there late on a Saturday night the booths were doing a roaring trade. Obviously nearly everyone else, from the hens parties to the couples, were there for the same reason as us. To check out one or two rounds before heading back into the night giggling like school girls at a sleepover at what we had just done.

The shifty eyed single men on the other hand skulked away to their respective viewing windows again and again with pockets full of coins.

If you ever get the chance then we actually do highly recommend taking the plunge and visiting an Amsterdam peep show. Just make sure that you are always respectful of the women in the shows and the ones on the streets!

Have you ever been to an Amsterdam Peep Show or Sex show? Tell us about your experience below.

Continue Reading

Meet Cole and Adela

Cole and AdelaWe have been wearing out our jandals (Kiwi for flip-flops) on our travel adventures around the world since 2009. We think our blog is thought provoking and a little witty. But we have been proven wrong before. Find out more about us here...

New on Four Jandals

What Are You Looking For?

Subscribe

Trending