Connect with us

Europe

Busabout Sail Turkey Review

A comprehensive Busabout Sail Turkey review of the 8 day Busabout Sail Turkey cruise along the stunning Mediterranean coastline.

Published

on

Busabout Sail Turkey

Are there any better ways to explore the Turkish coastline in the Mediterranean Sea than living on board a traditional Turkish Gulet for an 8 Day Sail Turkey cruise? Well we didn’t think so when we first booked our trip and hopefully our Busabout Sail Turkey review will help you choose your next adventure too.

Busabout Sail Turkey Review

Swimming off our Busabout Sail Turkey Gulet

Busabout Sail Turkey Review

Before we booked we did hold a few reservations. We had heard stories from friends about how Sail Croatia, which we were tossing up whether to do or not, can be a real booze cruise. While we love having a few cold ones as much as the next Kiwi we were not that keen on blowing all our money on booze. Plus we didn’t want to spend our days hungover not being able to enjoy some travel adventures.

So when we booked we expected that this would be quite similar. Especially considering we had just been to ANZAC Day in Gallipoli and knew there would be lots of Kiwi’s and Aussies heading to the Turkish coast to lap up some sunshine.

Busabout Sail Turkey Pre-departure

This is the first year that Busabout have run the Sail Turkey adventure and so at the moment it is really cheap.

We were on the first trip of the season as well so £299 per person is great value in our opinion considering that you get 7 nights of accommodation and all of your meals included.

Booking through Busabout proved to be really easy and they were wonderful to deal with. We especially like that you can go on the Busabout website and see who else is on your trip through their MyTrip tab. It allows you to send messages to the other travellers to arrange things like airport transfers or meet ups before your trip if you want.

They also have options through their partner, V-Go, in Turkey. Although we stayed elsewhere in Fethiye which worked out a bit cheaper. It seemed like most people stayed there before their trip although we met a bunch of travellers before we went at our accommodation too.

The trip is from Saturday afternoon to the following Saturday morning. With the last night actually parked at the docks in Fethiye harbour so you really only have 6 nights along the Turkish coastline.

Busabout Sail Turkey

Our awesome crew! Busabout Sail Turkey Review

The Busabout Sail Turkey Trip

We met up with everyone at 4pm at the Busabout headquarters in Fethiye and they split our group of 35 into two groups. Each Turkish Gulet, which is a traditional two-masted wooden sailing vessel, has a crew of three and sleeps 18 guests on board. As a couple we were lucky that we had our own double bed in a room while some rooms had to share with three people on bunk beds.

Busabout Sail Turkey Review

Paddling in the gorgeous Turkish Water

Every room comes with an ensuite. Just be careful that you don’t flush your toilet paper down the loo because just like on land in Turkey the system cannot handle it. You have to place everything in the waste bin next to the toilet.

The rooms are tiny but who wants to spend time in their rooms when you are on a boat in the Mediterranean Sea?

Every night we expected to park up next to the other boat and tie up together. This didn’t happen though and instead we would park about 100m apart. I guess for safety reasons but it would have been nice to be able to mingle with the other boat properly every now and then.

However it was probably for the best because we definitely were on the quieter boat. Sure we enjoyed a few beers every night and had a couple of bigger party nights but we didn’t go overboard (excuse the pun). In comparison, the other boat drank up a storm. There were a couple of dudes crushing beer cans at the breakfast table!

The mornings would usually begin slowly with the Captain getting an early start driving us to another bay along the Turkish coastline. As we would all slowly emerge on to the deck into the bright sunlight we would be dropping anchor somewhere new for our breakfast usually around 8.30am.

For a couple of hours we would lounge around on the decks playing backgammon or cards. Or just relax with a good book in hand. Once it got too hot for us to lie out in the sun we would spend the time diving off the boat and cooling off in the pristine turquoise waters.

Simena Village, Busabout Sail Turkey Review

Busabout Sail Turkey Review – Simena Village

The afternoons would be spent visiting one of the small villages dotted along the coast or again go exploring the shoreline from the water. Evenings would again bring us all together over a few beers. We couldn’t get any more relaxed if we tried!

Busabout Sail Turkey Review

Relaxing onboard with snacks, beer and backgammon

The Food onboard

Simple but delicious is the only way to describe the food on the boat. We were just stoked it was mostly traditional Turkish food. For example the breakfast would be cheeses, cucumbers, tomatoes, eggs, bread, honey and jam. Not to mention the tea and coffee on demand.

Lunches and dinners were fairly similar and would usually be rice and pasta with really tasty roast vegetables or stews. Stuffed roasted capsicums and couscous! My mouth is watering just reliving the meals. We were also lucky to have fresh fish a couple of nights which was awesome.

All our meals were served around the huge dining table at the back of the boat. It was one of our favourite times as we would all come together every few hours and jokes would fly and shit-talked.

Busabout Sail Turkey Review Food

Busabout Sail Turkey Review – The Food

The Negatives

As we said, this was definitely one of the best trips we have ever done so far on our adventures around the world however it wasn’t all smooth sailing:

  • We wish there had been more information about the optional excursions. Nearly every day we were offered the chance to visit small villages, try adventures like Para-sailing or explore Turkish historical sites. Unfortunately with the limited English from the crew we had no idea the costs of the activities or what was involved.
    Note: At least Busabout has assured us that following our feedback they have now included more information on each boat about these activities.
  • As before, we wish we had a chance to socialise with the other boat a little bit more. Not every night but a few nights during the trip would have been good.
  • “Sail Turkey” should probably be called “Motor Turkey” as there is not a lot of sailing involved. Didn’t really bother us as the crew couldn’t handle it. But it would have been great to do a bit more than the two hours we did.
  • The final negative is that on the second-to-last day our Captain was fired. We still don’t know the reason why or what happened but it sucked as we all thought our Captain was awesome.  Not really Busabouts fault either as it wasn’t their decision but actually the company they lease the boats from.

Like we said, not too many negatives!

Make sure you check out some of our favourite Busabout Sail Turkey photos from our trip here as well to check out the sights. And if you want to book a Sail Turkey trip or any other Busabout adventures then click our affiliate link below.

Disclaimer: We were provided with a discount for the Busabout Sail Turkey cruise, however, as always our thoughts on our adventure travel blog our own.

Continue Reading
36 Comments

36 Comments

  1. Bret@ Green Global Travel

    May 14, 2012 at 2:52 PM

    Sounds like a fun trip, those few negatives aside. Mary has been dreaming of sailing around the Mediterranean for years, so hopefully we’ll get a chance to see Turkey, Greece, etc. next year.

    • Cole Burmester

      May 14, 2012 at 4:37 PM

      Let us know if you go and we will be keen to join you guys! Do you think we could convince the Sea Shepherd to take us around 😉

  2. Stephanie - The Travel Chica

    May 14, 2012 at 3:10 PM

    Sounds like a fun time. A little weird that the Captain was fired and that the passengers actually knew about it… those things should be discreet whatever the reason.

    • Cole Burmester

      May 14, 2012 at 4:35 PM

      It was really bizarre. Especially since it was the second to last day. You think they would just carry on. Credit to Busabout though that it wasn’t their decision but actually the company they lease the boats from.

  3. Ali

    May 14, 2012 at 3:24 PM

    Overall sounds like a pretty good trip. It’s good that your review helped them provide better information going forward.

  4. Christy @ Technosyncratic

    May 15, 2012 at 1:21 AM

    Wow, only 300 pounds for a full week? That’s a steal! We’d definitely consider doing this someday, although it is a bummer that there isn’t more actual sailing.

    • Cole Burmester

      May 15, 2012 at 9:13 AM

      We were hoping for more Sailing but I think it is too much work and just easier to motor everywhere. You don’t cover huge distances either with only about 1 – 2 hours driving a day. £299 for a week but goes up during peak season in the middle of summer. Would recommend the shoulder season as it would be too hot otherwise!

  5. Raymond @ Man On The Lam

    May 15, 2012 at 5:08 AM

    I would love to do this 8 day trip. Is it BYOB?

    • Cole Burmester

      May 15, 2012 at 9:14 AM

      Strictly not BYO. But Efes (beers) are only 6 Turkish Lira each. Our bar tab between 2 came to about £150 after the week. Some dudes on the other boat had a £500 tab each though!

  6. Natalie

    May 15, 2012 at 5:49 AM

    I agree with Stephanie, the customers should not know about the captain being fired. Shame you did not know about the little excursions as well, because there are so many delights on the coastline. All in all though, it sounds like you had a fab time for a very good price.

    • Cole Burmester

      May 15, 2012 at 9:15 AM

      They have changed the information at least so that is good. And while it was not Busabouts fault he was fired (separate companies) it shouldn’t of happened in front of us.

  7. Angela

    May 15, 2012 at 1:29 PM

    Wow, it looks amazing swimming there!

    • Cole Burmester

      May 15, 2012 at 7:39 PM

      The water was really amazing! Just wish it had been a degree or two warmer.

  8. LozinTransit

    May 16, 2012 at 7:04 PM

    Hmmm… Wow! So I guess they make their money on the beer tab then. That’s a pretty hefty amount for the quiet boat, not to mention the £500. I went to Fethiye during the low season which isn’t so bad, there’s definitely a different energy to a place when the party people descend upon it.
    An experience worth having.

    • Cole Burmester

      May 18, 2012 at 2:04 PM

      Apparently the crew basically only makes money on the trip if we drink a lot. Since we liked them all a lot we decided to drink lots to pay them back 🙂

  9. Trudy Florence

    June 5, 2012 at 11:20 AM

    We did the Busabout Croatia sail last summer and that was amazing, like you we were so glad we were on the ‘quieter’ boat. The other boat had a group of Aussie girls drinking 24/7 and even putting on live sex shows on the deck… not really my idea of a relaxing time! We had an amazing group of people who I’m still in close contact with. Turkey has been on the list for awhile so I’m keen to check this one out, I wonder if it’s still on sale – off to investigate!!

    • Cole Burmester

      June 5, 2012 at 4:28 PM

      Hmmm the “live sex shows” are definitely a bit much! Why is it that when people go on holiday they also leave their inhibitions behind? So disgusting most of the time.
      Definitely book through our link if you want to go Trudy 🙂

  10. Nick Paul

    July 3, 2012 at 3:23 PM

    Thanks for the honest review! I’ve been eyeing this trip for some time now, just a bit worried it will be too much of a party boat and not a chilled experience. I’m young but work a fairly stressful job, so the idea of 7 sleepless nights while on holiday doesn’t appeal to me. I’m keen to relax as much as possible. What do you think? Good idea, or bad idea?

    • Cole Burmester

      July 3, 2012 at 7:02 PM

      Hey Nick thanks for dropping by. Our boat was not really a party boat so it was really chilled out and we loved it! The other boat seemed to be a bit more intense but that’s just the way it is sometimes. But both boats were a lot more relaxed compared to Sail Croatia. The Sail Turkey parties happen on the boats and you don’t dock every night so its more fun in that respect. Plus you can head down to your cabins where its quiet whenever you want. Let us know how you get on and click on the link if you want to book 🙂

  11. Hannah

    October 10, 2012 at 4:27 AM

    I’ve been looking at this tour for some time. Love the review. I’m going to Europe next year as a solo traveler, do you think this trip is good for someone on their own?
    Hannah 🙂

    • Cole Burmester

      October 10, 2012 at 10:27 AM

      Hey Hannah, thanks for stopping by and checking out the review. Definitely do it as a Solo Traveller! Adela’s sister did it after us on her own and absolutely loved it 🙂 Have you seen the hop-on/hop-off tours that Busabout runs around Europe. That way you can meet other travellers in a friendly environment as well. Can check it out here – Busabout

  12. Jia Lin Luo

    December 13, 2012 at 6:28 AM

    Thanks so much for the review! I’m just about to book for one of next year’s cruises, I was worried whether or not the first trip of the season would be too cold but from what you guys are saying it seems fine. Like some of the previous comments, I too am a bit worried about it being a booze cruise; I like to have a good time and all but not a big drinker and not looking to get smashed all the time. Any tips on maybe picking the quieter boat?

    • Cole Burmester

      December 13, 2012 at 8:56 AM

      Thanks for dropping a comment 🙂 It was definitely warm enough in April for it. I think mid/late May would be perfect as one of our friends did it at the end of July and she said it was wayyyy too hot! Not everyone boozed on the other boat, there just seemed to be more of them. I am pretty sure when you book with Busabout you can leave a comment asking them to put you on a quieter boat too. They are really nice to deal with before your trip and will help out as much as possible.
      All we ask is you book through our link on the page. Doesn’t cost you any extra but gives us a little bonus as affiliates 🙂 Let us know if you go because we want to hear about it!!!

      • Lachie

        February 11, 2013 at 8:29 PM

        Hi there,

        Review sounds great, I’m probably a bit more geared towards doing this trip as a party trip though, crushing beers at the breakfast table etc haha. My friends have already booked and I’m just weighing it up now. Of the 8 nights how many are you in a port where you can go ashore to party it up to the wee small hours? The trip itself sounds like it will really suit me during the daytime hours I’d just love it push on a bit after dark each night.

        • Cole Burmester

          February 12, 2013 at 8:17 AM

          Hey mate. This trip only stops twice to go ashore for a few brews at night. However they do party pretty hard all night on the boats, which I enjoyed more anyway. Also all the boats are in the same bays so you can mix it up on other boats etc.
          The Sail Croatia cruises are the ones that pull into port every night and you might prefer those, but definitely don’t discount Sail Turkey!

  13. Amity

    April 3, 2013 at 12:06 PM

    I just booked this trip for late May this year. Can’t wait to escape cold London for a week on a boat 🙂

    Just wondering what the power supply was like on the boat, I read on V-Go’s website that you can only charge cameras etc when the boat is docked to land. Was this ever an issues? Thinking I may invest in a spare camera battery.

    Thanks for the blog, gave me a great idea of what to expect!

    • Cole Burmester

      April 4, 2013 at 8:19 AM

      We went at the end of April and it was already so hot! You will love it Amity 😉
      For the power supply we had no problems charging everything from phones to camera batteries. Most of the time you are using the motor so there wasn’t a problem with charging things. Just a limited number of plugs. We always carry spare batteries anyway just in case 😉

  14. Ricardo

    April 12, 2013 at 1:40 AM

    This all sounds so great. I am heading for Fethiye in a few weeks to look at properties. Hopefully I will be able to go on one of these boats next year, once I am permanently established there. Have been to Turkey many times (my friend is Turkish), and cannot wait to start this wonderful adventure… retiring to Turkey!!! Just turned 51, so hope to be on ok shape for a few years to enjoy my life in Turkey!!!

    • Cole Burmester

      April 12, 2013 at 9:45 AM

      Exploring the coastline by boat is a great option. Hope you find a wonderful new home too!

  15. Jon

    May 29, 2013 at 12:41 AM

    Hi Cole,

    Just read your review, I’m very tempted to book the trip in August 13′. Me & a mate, both single teachers, 27 & 29 are looking for a blend of chilling, sunbathing, swimming & will be keen to drink most nights, some till the early hours. Having said this, would you recommend this trip to us? Also what are the average age range and boy to girl ratio’s on the boats?

    Regards,

    Jon.

    • Cole Burmester

      May 31, 2013 at 12:52 PM

      Definitely recommend it Jon. Loads of fun and lots of drinking if you want to do it. Plus plenty of relaxing time too in the sun. August will be scorching!
      At least 2:1 Girls to Guys as well so that works in your favour 😉

  16. Kirsty J

    July 7, 2014 at 2:57 PM

    Hey ya,

    Thanks for the review. We are going in August this year, and as you can imagine the price has gone up since 2012. I’ve seen you have to buy booze and water on board, so just wondering how easy is it to bring that on yourself (esp water!) if your discreet enough and within reason..

    Thanks,
    Kirsty

  17. Kirsty M

    February 16, 2015 at 2:33 AM

    Hey

    I just thought id add to this message after doing the busabout turkey trip. It wasnt worth the money we paid for it and we got 20% off the price. Busabout sublet to a turkish company and dont have guide like on the croatian sails (if you’ve done them). We were really disspointed with the tour and even complained as there were several ‘hidden’ costs eg. when we stopped at a port one day, which was miles from the town, we were told (once we had all boarded this mini bus/shuttle) that we needed to pay the driver to get into town. No other options were given – lunch wasnt provided that day even though it was stated on the itinerary. You cant lock the doors to your cabins and the crew went into our rooms and took any booze we had brought on boardl even if you werent going to drink it. Again we complained and nothing came of it.

    I wouldnt recommed pre booking a company do to a turkish sail – you can basically turn up and book a few days beforehand. Obviously a lot has changed since 2012 and its quite a shame. I’ve done a lot of busabout tours and I was ashamed at this sail.

    Kirsty

    • Rebecca Barlow

      February 19, 2015 at 5:38 PM

      Hi Kristy,

      That is a shame to hear that you were disappointed with your Busabout sail Turkey trip. Moss and I recently did the trip ourselves in August 2014, however our guide was very informative and clear about the ‘hidden’ costs you have mentioned. For example, we were given the choice of catching the shuttle bus and everyone on the boat voted to give the chef a break and go buy our own lunch. I can understand why you were disappointed though, every penny counts when you are travelling on a budget!

      Thank you for your honest feedback, and for any one considering Sail Turkey, you can read the post from our August 2014 adventure. Simply use the search bar at the top of the page and search ‘sail turkey’ 🙂

  18. Pingback: Sailing in Turkey with BusAbout - Caroline in the City Travel Blog

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Europe

Tips for Making Any Overseas Trip a Romantic One

Published

on

Vacations are a great way to leave our everyday lives behind to spend some stress free time with the one we love. Travel in itself can be quite romantic but there are definitely ways you can spice up your holidays even more.

Follow these helpful tips to make sure your romantic holiday gets off on the right foot and continues to head down the tunnel of love and passion. You can easily turn any part of your travels into a special romantic affair.

Choosing the Right Destination

A romantic trip starts with selecting the right destination. There are definitely cities and regions which are much more prone to sparking romance than others. Beauty may be in the eye of the beholder, but generally destinations such as popular European cities, beach getaways, Asian resorts, luxury ski resorts, or tropical islands make for a good choice.

Couples should pick a destination which they both will enjoy as this will of course make it far easier to express their love for each other.

Choosing the Right Time

It is a good idea to select a time that will be most appropriate for your holiday. Choose a time that is easy for you in regards to taking time off work or from household duties. This will make it far easier to feel relaxed while on your holiday, allowing you to focus more on fuelling the romance.

You may also want to research when the best time is to visit your chosen destination so as to avoid peak crowds or unideal weather conditions.

Choosing a romantic date to travel such as an anniversary, honeymoon, or birthday can also turn any holiday into one filled with more passion. Travelling during Valentine’s Day can make for an especially romantic holiday of which there are many perfect Valentine’s Day destinations.

Fly Business Class

Although your destination may be exhilarating, the flight or flights to get there can be stressful. Minimise the stress of flying by booking business class where you’ll enjoy the VIP treatment with far more comfortable seats which many times convert into a bed allowing for a decent rest while in the air.

As a bonus you can many times be granted access to luxurious airport lounges when flying business class which makes waiting for your flight much easier as you are treated to free food and drinks along with clean bathrooms and seating areas.

Private Transportation

Public transportation can not only take longer to get to your hotel or attractions in your chosen destination, but they can also kill the mood for you and your loved one. By booking private transfers via your hotel or on your own, you can avoid buses, trams, and trains which can be crowded and noisy.

Choose a Nice Hotel

It may be difficult to find romance if you are staying in a dodgy motel or hostel. Be sure to book quality accommodation which has private en suites and clean furnishings. Remember that your vacation is supposed to be an escape, so make that escape the best it can be with premium toiletries, fancy marble bathroom floors, plush pillows, quality linen, and a nice hotel room view. All of these luxuries will make for a far more romantic getaway.

Eating Out

Nothing can ignite romance more than delicious food although preparing it isn’t always that much fun. One of the best aspects of travelling is that it gives us an excuse to not have to cook.

Seek out popular restaurants that offer a romantic setting, quality service, and mouth watering flavours that will leave you passionate for more than just satisfying your hungry stomach.

Get Dressed Up

Although you and your loved one may look good in any light and attire, it is never a bad idea to put on your Sunday’s best. It can sometimes be difficult in our everyday lives to find occasions to get all dressed and made up, so why not make your holiday abroad an excuse to do so.

Although clothes may not necessarily make the person, a nice dress or suit and tie can go a long way to giving us a little extra special glow to spark a bit of romance.

Log Off and Put the Phone Away

Nothing can kill a romantic dinner or event than the sound of message notifications, phone calls, or emails. Any holiday should be an excuse to remove the stress of the online world or work and with romantic holidays this becomes even more paramount.

You want to be focusing your attention on the love you and your partner share or if travelling solo you want this time to focus on the beauty of the destination you have selected which may in turn bring you a bit of romance. Disconnecting is all about reconnecting; so log off and put the phone away!

Reduce the Risk of Stressful Situations

Stress can kill romance very quickly. When we are stressed we can easily find ourselves getting into silly arguments or bouts of criticism. Your holiday is supposed to be an enjoyable experience so don’t let it turn sour by making the possibility of stress to creep on in.

Don’t try to overload your itinerary with too much and avoid setting too rigid of a timeline. Prior planning is important to avoid any unwanted surprises or disappointments when it comes to securing reservations for flights, hotels, or activities.

Should anything go wrong during your travels, you want to have the peace of mind you are protected by travel insurance from InsureandGo. Travel Insurance can help when the unforseen happens while you are overseas.

Continue Reading

Europe

How to Plan a Trip to Iceland

Published

on

If you have ever heard the amazing stories about Iceland, they are all true!  If you’ve come this far into doing research about how to plan a trip to Iceland, I’m here to help you cross the bridge and fill in gaps so you can make your dream a reality.

As someone who has done this trip, I’m able to assist in every step of the journey.  I’ve boiled this down into cliff notes so you can do your own research after reading them and dig deeper into tours that will fit your personal preferences and budget.

First off, you are going to need to trust the Internet.  It’s a big place with a lot of information that can help you get there in one piece and not be stressed out.  Long gone are the days of visiting a travel agency and having someone plan everything for you – for a fee!  It’s your adventure, and you can know that every item is covered online, you just need to know how to look for it.

The best tip I can give you is to leverage the various Facebook Groups about Iceland.

Resource:  When In Iceland Facebook Group.

Next, you’ll want to decide when to visit Iceland.

The winter months will allow you to have more freedom as the tourism numbers are down.  However, this comes with the caveat that it will be below freezing and there will be very little sunlight!  The sun is only out for approximately six hours during the month of December!

On the positive side, this allows you a great opportunity to view the Northern Lights, which is a marquee attraction in Iceland.

Conversely, the Fall and Spring will bring you better temperatures and less snow, but there will be a much slimmer chance of viewing the Northern Lights.

Lastly, there are the Summer months.  While you will see a greener country and experience a lot of beauty on that end of the spectrum, it does come with a much higher price tag.  Be prepared to spend more money if you choose to visit Iceland in the Summer.

Also, you’ll want to have an agenda.  If you are one to take things in on your own and adventure into the wild, Iceland will be a perfect escape for you.  There are also guided tours that you can hire and they will accommodate to your every need or desire.  Simply ask anyone in the aforementioned Facebook group and they can steer you in the right direction.

You can of course, do public transportation in Iceland.  It’s entirely safe and used by many people.

Iceland is a fantastic, unique place to visit.  If you need any help planning your trip, please visit my Iceland Tour guide resource and leave a comment.  Happy Travels.

Continue Reading

Europe

Overlooked and Underrated Euro Vacations

Published

on

Here’s a quick list of places to possibly include in your next European itinerary. 2018 is the year of the underrated vacation spot in our humble opinions, and we want to honor it.

Basque Country:

This place is in this author’s humble opinion easily and hands-down the most underrated little corner of Europe.

And honestly, between the two, the Spanish side of Basque country is going to cost you probably around 50% what the French side will, and most people in the know will agree that the Spanish side is at least 100% more fun!

 

Canary Islands:

There are two ways to do the Canaries: simply fly in and enjoy them, or treat yourself and a loved one to a romantic Canary Island cruise.

Best time to visit is definitely either spring or fall, as it does get quite cold in the winter and quite hot in the summer. If you are a beach bum, on the other hand, summer is best (but there will be a lot more tourists in the summer).

 

Siena, Italy:

This city is often overshadowed by Rome, Florence, and Venice, but it actually is arguably the best-preserved city in Italy and has the best historic city center. The cuisine here is absolutely to die for, and you won’t have to pay inflated tourist prices like you will in the aforementioned places either!

If you can, try to make it for the famous Palio, a horse race that has been going on literally for centuries.

 

Brussels:

Just as Siena is overshadowed by other bigger Italian cities, Brussels tends to stand forgotten next to London and Paris. But Brussels has key elements of the two metropolises, as well as its own unique and delicious cuisine, its own beer (considered by more than a few experts to be the worlds best), and easily the worlds best chocolate, both in solid and drinkable form. Belgian chocolate will seriously change your life forever.

 

Istria, Croatia:

This is one of the world’s best summer beach destinations. It’s incredibly beautiful, and by Western European standards, almost outrageously cheap.

Hipster tourists are starting to come in and drive prices up, but it still remains a great bargain by any standards, and most importantly, it’s a bargain without really having to give up any of our beloved amenities.

 

Budapest:

Budapest could be called the poor man’s Prague, but in reality that name isn’t very fair. For one thing, Hungarian culture and Czech culture are actually extremely different (for one thing, the Hungarian language isn’t in the same family as the rest of Europe, it’s its own thing completely, like the Basque language).

Prague is gorgeous, but it’s getting almost as expensive as the rest of Europe too, and honestly Budapest’s history and culture is much more interesting, especially for the seasoned traveller.

 

Continue Reading

Meet Cole and Adela

Cole and AdelaWe have been wearing out our jandals (Kiwi for flip-flops) on our travel adventures around the world since 2009. We think our blog is thought provoking and a little witty. But we have been proven wrong before. Find out more about us here...

Trending