Connect with us

Europe

Yellow Hostel in Rome Review

If you are visiting Rome then check out our Yellow Hostel Rome Review for your stay. A brilliant place to have a drink and rest your feet.

Published

on

The Yellow Hostel in Rome

We had been in Rome for ten minutes and were already dripping with sweat, grumpy, tired and a little lost. Carrying your backpack around in the Italian summer is no fun at all.

As we turned the final corner the sign for The Yellow Hostel Rome was like a beacon of light that got brighter as we saw the outside bar area and copious ice cold pints.

The Yellow Hostel in Rome

 

Yellow Hostel Rome Review

Dumping our backpacks on the floor in reception, which was thankfully cool and shady, we were greeted by friendly staff who gave us a comprehensive rundown of the hostel. As well as the free drink token everyone gets when you check-in.

Travel Tip: Also “like” their Facebook page to earn another free drink after you check-in!

Within minutes Fabio, the proud owner, came bounding down to meet us. If you get a chance to meet him, which is highly likely since he is there all the time, then you will find that he is super passionate about The Yellow, Rome and architecture and he loves to dish out free advice on what to see in the city.

In fact Fabio pretty much planned our itinerary which was great as he knew we wanted to hit all the must-sees and top free attractions. Using his local knowledge we even found the best spots for pasta and gelato. The best recommendation he gave us was Mama Angela’s restaurant which was right across the road and served incredibly tasty Italian food for a reasonable price.

The Yellow Hostel in Rome

The Yellow Hostel was actually voted Rome’s most popular hostel at the HostelWorld Hoscars by all its guests and for a good reason.

Yellow Hostel Rome Location

It’s location is perfect as they are situated only two minutes walk from a metro stop, ten minutes walk from the central train station and a twenty minute walk to visit the Ancient Roman Colosseum. Compared to other cities like London where you have to catch the tube for an hour, this hostel is perfect.

There is also free WiFi in the bar area and iPad rentals.

If you plan on staying here then make sure you are keen to have a good time. The Yellow Hostel really tries to make sure they always have a super social environment which is pretty easy when you have beds for 200 people!

A massive bar area provides seating inside and out with top notch yet budget friendly wine (2 euro for a huge glass), happy hour deals, beer pong tables, nightly events and after 11pm you can move downstairs to cut some sweet shapes with the in-house DJ.

The only flipside of this is that if you are in a dorm you shouldn’t expect to get much sleep. If you are lucky like us and stay in a private dorm then you won’t hear a peep from anyone. Total bliss.

Don’t forget that as well as all the great things going on within the hostel there is a pretty awesome city on your doorstep to explore. The Yellow has created an outstanding map showcasing all the highlights including Rome’s free excursions. We highly recommend speaking to their staff to get some travel tips on where to go and what to see.

Yellow Hostel Rome Food

Unfortunately a huge downside is that breakfast is not included and there is no kitchen. However feel free to eat your own food in the bar area as this is allowed anytime. They also have a cheap breakfast menu if you want one from 2.50 euro and up. Another thumbs up goes to their coffee with lattes, espressos and cappuccinos (from a coffee machine) which will help you get back on your feet after a night at The Yellow bar.

We were told that they are building a new kitchen area so hopefully in a few months time that will be up and running.

Travel Tip: If you use FourSquare then make sure you “check-in” every morning and reward yourself with a free coffee.

The dinner that they provide is definitely a highlight of the social scene. For a measly 3 euros you can gorge yourself on homemade pasta, lasagne, pizza, rice and broccoli. It’s a great way to save your pennies.

The Yellow Hostel in Rome

Yellow Hostel Rome Rooms

We stayed in a private double room which was fantastic. Thankfully it was not above the bar so it was really quiet and also very spacious. The room came with its own newly refurbished bathroom, mini-fridge, a table to sit at, TV, soap and ladies there was even a hairdryer!

The only downside was that there was no safe and our air-conditioning was broken so we had to stand right in front of the fan to get any relief from the heat.

Overall the Yellow Hostel in Rome is definitely up there with being one of the best hostels we have ever stayed at. For a backpacking couple who wants to meet some friends on the road, enjoy a drink or two, or even just chill out after an epic day sightseeing in Rome then the Yellow Hostel is for you.

The Yellow Hostel in Rome

Disclaimer: HostelWorld kindly put us up for our stay although as always our Yellow Hostel Rome review and thoughts are never influenced by them.

Adela is one half of the New Zealand Adventure Couple who have been travelling since 2009. She loves the outdoors and has a real passion for Snowboarding, Mountain Biking and Surfing (apart from being scared of sharks). She loves food and writes all our food posts. Consider following us via RSS Feed, Twitter, Facebook and subscribe to our Newsletter.

Continue Reading
18 Comments

18 Comments

  1. Ayngelina

    June 15, 2012 at 9:13 PM

    It just goes to show you that people can have dramatically different experiences. I stayed there for one night a year ago and was in a terrible dorm. The people were out late, loud and inconsiderate. Perhaps the private room is the way to go.

    • Cole Burmester

      June 18, 2012 at 7:59 AM

      Private rooms are definitely the way to go. As a couple it usually is close to them same price anyway and just having a little bit of piece and quiet is so handy!

  2. Karen @ Trans-Americas Journey

    June 15, 2012 at 9:47 PM

    Two euro goblet of wine? Sign me up! Sounds like good times at The Yellow Hostel even with the few disappointments which I really appreciate you including. Hopefully the A/C is fixed and the communal kitchen is up and running soon!

    • Cole Burmester

      June 18, 2012 at 8:03 AM

      We always tell it like it is Karen and make sure that we let the owner know that we will tell the truth as well. No point lying to our readers! I think the A/C was broken only in our room but it happens during travel sometimes so all good.

  3. Jess | GlobetrotterGirls

    June 17, 2012 at 6:07 PM

    Great review – sounds really fun. I love the travel tips. We (and by we I mean Dani 🙂 ) are obsessed with Foursquare and love that we can get a free coffee, as we (and by we I mean BOTH of us) are obsessed with coffee 🙂 We’ll definitely keep this place in mind for Rome!

    • Cole Burmester

      June 18, 2012 at 8:06 AM

      I spoke to the owner and it seems like I was the only one that had used FourSquare in about 3 months haha. I guess we (me and Dani :)) are just a little nerdy!

  4. Caz Makepeace

    June 17, 2012 at 10:33 PM

    Like the sound of this hostel. I love how they are integrating social media to give you free stuff. Free coffee and $3 meals sounds great to me

    • Cole Burmester

      June 18, 2012 at 8:07 AM

      Their owner, Fabio, is really switched on with Social Media. They have a fan base of about 5,000 on their Facebook Page in the matter of a few months. Amazing what people will “like” for a free drink haha.

  5. [email protected] Green Global Travel

    June 17, 2012 at 11:42 PM

    I’ve never stayed in a hostel, but if Rome is anywhere near as hot as Dominica, not having A/C would be a dealbreaker for me!

    • Cole Burmester

      June 18, 2012 at 8:08 AM

      How can you never have stayed in a hostel Bret? You are missing out 😉 But yea the A/C not working did suck. Luckily the ice cold white wine and Perotti beer made up for it.

  6. Laurence

    June 18, 2012 at 8:57 AM

    Good review, plus handy tips for saving money! Win win 😉

    • Cole Burmester

      June 23, 2012 at 6:46 AM

      Cheers Laurence. It’s a fantastic place to stay and luckily we are going back in a few weeks too 🙂

  7. Doc Wends

    June 18, 2012 at 2:37 PM

    I just love the thought that this hostel is a great escape’s place to be in Rome. When my feet heads to Rome, I will definitely hit this place.

    Cheers from the Philippines 🙂

    • Cole Burmester

      June 23, 2012 at 6:49 AM

      Glad to hear it Doc! It’s a great place to chill out and relax after a day exploring 🙂 Thanks for stopping by!

  8. Allan FL

    June 18, 2012 at 2:42 PM

    It was awful to me, the worst hostel I’ve ever been to. Someone took 300 euro from my locker and the staff just didn’t care. It was dirty, unconfortable and lousy.

    • Cole Burmester

      June 23, 2012 at 6:50 AM

      I am really sorry to hear that Allan! That sucks. Did you speak to a manager? Hopefully they will see your comment and get in touch!

  9. Steve

    June 21, 2012 at 1:29 PM

    Looks great, but I do need some air-con to survive these days

    • Cole Burmester

      June 23, 2012 at 7:07 AM

      It has got hotter and hotter in Italy since we arrived! Definitely glad of the aircon in our room at the moment 🙂

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Adventure Travel

Walking the Camino de Santiago Photos

These are my favourite Camino de Santiago Photos from my pilgrimage along the French Way in March. A truly beautiful way to spend a few weeks.

Published

on

Puenta La Reina Bridge Camino Arrow

El Camino de Santiago kicked my ass. Well technically it kicked my feet. Turns out my minimal preparation for the Camino de Santiago was terrible. After a miserable effort of only 4 days, the doctor in Legrono told me that I wasn’t allowed to go on until me feet healed. I had walked just over 100 km’s and my feet were bloodied and blistered.

To be honest, I was relieved.

The thought of putting back on my shoes made my shudder. For the last 9 km’s I had stumbled along in jandals and socks. One of the travelling fashion sins I vowed I would never break.

Jandals on the Camino de Santiago

Jandals on the Camino de Santiago

So while I have unfinished business with the Way of St James (an upcoming post), I did want to share with you some of my favourite photos from the Camino de Santiago. Because I had yet to reach some of the more “unsavoury” parts of the Camino that Sherry Ott had discovered, every step of my pilgrimage had been beautiful.

Puenta La Reina Bridge Camino Arrow

Puenta La Reina Bridge – Camino de Santiago Arrows

There is no way you can get lost on the Camino de Santiago. Arrows, scallop shells and signs point you in the right direction at every bridge, road crossing and intersection.

Camino de Santiago Scallop Shell

Camino de Santiago Scallop Shell

Reaching the top of Alto Pedron gave views back the way I had come from Pamplona, as well as views to where I was going. The rocky path on the way down proved to be my ultimate downfall, as my too small shoes caused my toes to smash into the front.

Alto del Pedron Camino de Santiago

Alto del Pedron Camino de Santiago

Metal Pilgrims on Alto del Pedron

Metal Pilgrims on Alto del Pedron

There were so many beautiful old churches along the Camino de Santiago. But since I was walking in early March, it seemed that most were yet to open for the busier summer season.

Church of Obanos

The Church of Obanos

And between every small village the well-maintained pathways of the French Way wound across the spectacular Spanish countryside.

The French Way - Camino de Santiago

The French Way – Camino de Santiago Photos

Puenta La Reina

Puenta La Reina in the evening

Puenta La Reina has one of the most amazing bridges I have ever seen. It was also the 1st village I had the pleasure of sleeping in after busy Pamplona.

Puenta la Reina Bridge and Sunrise

Puenta la Reina Bridge at sunrise

Most mornings I was up and walking before the sun began to sprinkle across the horizon.

Spring flowers on the Camino de Santiago

Spring flowers on the Camino de Santiago

Pilgrims approaching Cirauqui, Spain

Pilgrims approaching Cirauqui, Spain

Every village and town was built on a small hill. Sure it looks beautiful until you realise you have to go back up again to go through them all!

Church of Santa Maria - Los Arcos

Church of Santa Maria in Los Arcos

While there were only about 20 pilgrims walking each section every day, it wasn’t uncommon for you to encounter them all. The people I met along the Camino de Santiago were some of the most inspiring and remarkable people I have ever spoken to. They are the ones that make the pilrgimage so special.

The endless French Way

The endless French Way

Irache Wine Fountain - Fuente del Vino

The free flowing Irache Wine Fountain or “Fuente del Vino”

Hay bales along the French Way

Hay bales along the French Way

Every village had at least one ancient church and it wasn’t uncommon to find them dotting the landscape in remote locations either.

Ermita de San Miguel

Ermita de San Miguel

Iglesia de San Andrés de Zariquiegui Church

Iglesia de San Andrés de Zariquiegui Church

I have travelled through Spain in the past, including cycling in Costa Brava and surfing in San Sebastian with both independent planning and a vacation planner. But having the opportunity to walk at my own pace through some of the most beautiful scenery in Spain on the Camino de Santiago has so far topped them all.

Natural arches - Camino de Santiago

Natural arches on the Camino de Santiago

Continue Reading

Adventure Travel

Top of Cappadocia day trek – with Middle Earth Travel

Published

on

Trekking through the valleys of Cappadocia’s fairy chimneys with Middle Earth Travel feels more like the set of a Star Wars movie than a historical region once carved out and lived in by humans. Churches, homes and pigeon houses are scattered throughout the valleys, all waiting to be explored. The best part is, Middle Earth Travel know all the hidden secrets.

Standing at the top of Cappadocia

Top of Cappadocia day trek – with Middle Earth Travel

On the 26th of July (which just so happens to be my birthday!) Middle Earth Travel took us on their private and guided Top of Cappadocia day trek. From Pasabag, along the top of Cappadocia and down through the Gulludere Rose Valley to Goreme, we trekked 15kms in one day! (We recommend getting your bearings with this map)

Upon arrival to the Middle Earth Offices, we were warmly greeted by our new friend Atil whom we had met a few days earlier while mountain biking through the Kizilcukur Red Valley. We were then introduced to our guide and given a briefing regarding the day. Normally, the Top of Cappadocia tour would start from Çavuşin, however, since we had already explored Çavuşin Castle, they adapted our tour to compensate ensuring we would explore new terrain!

With charged cameras, plenty of water and our running shoes on, we were driven to our starting point of Pasabag. We wandered through the fairy chimneys, coming across camels and markets – then the true hike began.

Pasabag in Cappadocia

The police station in Pasabag, Cappadocia

Camel in Pasabag, Cappadocia

Camel in Pasabag, Cappadocia

It was a slow and gentle incline. With no trees to provide shade, I quickly realised why our tour guide had chosen to wear fully covered clothing! As the sweat quickly set in (a waterfall in Moss’s case) we snapped away with our cameras and enjoyed the entertaining shapes of Imagine Valley and the amazing view. We also passed a lot of rock piles, which according to our guide mean ‘father’ and are built to help lead the way.

Animal shaped formations in Imagine Valley

Animal shaped formations in Imagine Valley

Middle Earth Travel, Cappadocia

Making our way to the top of Cappadocia

Father leading the way (rock pile)

Father leading the way (rock pile)

The higher we trekked, the more breath taking the views became! As we walked along the summit of Bozdag mountain (the Top of Cappadocia) we could see EVERTHING – Pasabag, Çavuşin Castle, Kizilcukur Red Valley, Gulludere Rose Valley and Goreme. We were on the Father of Valleys! After a quick nod of agreement to the guide, we pushed ourselves the extra distance and made our way to the flag, as this HAD to be the highest point and was definitely worth a photo and a selfie or two!

View from the top of Cappadocia

View from the top of Cappadocia

Flag at top of Cappadocia

From the flag we looked down upon Aktepe Hill which is known as a popular destination for watching the sun set and could spot Kizilvadi Restaurant, our destination for lunch! Kizilvadi Restaurant is an attraction of its own. With its own historic winery and Grape church, plus some Middle Earth Travel treks even stay there for the night! After having a massive feed of soup, salad and pasta plus a surprise birthday cake, we made our way down into Gulludere Rose Valley.

Kizilvadi Restaurant

Kizilvadi Restaurant

The scenery is amazing, with strong colours visible in perfect layers on the chimneys, you would wonder what an artist was thinking, had it been a painting. Also, hidden to the side of the track we walked across a little bridge and not expecting anything to be there we were wowed by the massive church carved. It was absolutely huge and hard to believe that its most recent use has been as a pigeon house!

Coloured chimneys in Cappadocia

Coloured chimneys in Cappadocia

Pigeon houses in Cappadocia

Pigeon houses in Cappadocia

Church in Gulludere Rose Valley

Hard to believe this Church is carved inside a fairy chimney!

Middle Earth Travel Review

  • The team at Middle Earth Travel were extremely knowledgeable and certainly know Cappadocia’s hidden secrets. They have friendships with local tea garden owners which is also of benefit as it gained us entry to locked churches and hidden rooms that we would not have otherwise seen.
  • We covered a lot of ground, however we did not feel rushed. The whole day focused on showing us the region, therefore we had as much time as we needed to explore each church and to take ‘just one more photo’.
  • It wasn’t all about trekking. With a whole day and 15kms to cover, there were a few silly poses (especially in Imagine Valley), and we learnt a lot about the myths, legends and way of life in Cappadocia.
  • In conclusion I highly recommend Middle Earth Travel if you wish to go trekking or mountain biking in Cappadocia.
  • Cost: Day treks with Middle Earth Travel range from 50-90 euro, depending on the number of people taking part. This includes lunch, guide, vehicle transfers and entrance fees to historical sites, but excludes alcoholic and soft drinks.
  • Middle Earth Travel are outdoor enthusiasts and offer multi-day over night treks, mountain biking, abseiling, or custom made itineraries, in multiple regions throughout Turkey.
  • www.middleearthtravel.com

Disclaimer: We were provided with a discount for the trek with Middle Earth Travel, however, as always our thoughts on our adventure travel blog our own.

Continue Reading

Europe

Amsterdam Food Guide

If you think of Amsterdam you don’t think of food. However if you try the food here in our Amsterdam food guide you might get lucky.

Published

on

By

Amsterdam Food Waffles

We are total foodies and our travelling has allowed our passion for food to grow considerably (not to mention our waist lines)!  We love trying new food when we visit foreign countries and always make a huge effort to eat the local cuisine. Check out some of the food we ate below in our cheap and delicious Amsterdam Food Guide.

Amsterdam Food Waffles

We had heard from a number of people that the Amsterdam food was nothing to rave about. To be honest food was not really our main interest in visiting but then again neither was an Amsterdam Peep show and we ended up enjoying that!

However we were pleasantly surprised. I think the people whom we had talked to had it wrong. Sure Holland doesn’t really have a local cuisine but once we got over this fact we realised there is still some damn good food to be had from the various Amsterdam Restaurants.

Amsterdam Food

The best meal we had was actually next door to the Red Light district in Chinatown. Crossing the canal to the east away from the neon lights your nostrils are attacked and your mouth begins salivating from the delicious smells wafting along the narrow cobbled streets.

As we walked into Bird Thai restaurant the enticing aroma hit us instantly leaving us drooling in anticipation. It was definitely up there with some of the best Thai food we have had. We went for the classic Green curry, fried rice and duck combo.

The Green curry was so flavoursome with the richness of the coconut milk blending perfectly with the traditional spices.  The duck was cooked to perfection and for the first few minutes of the meal all you could hear was the crunching of the crispy outside layer as we devoured the duck in minutes. Needless to say the fried rice was a taste explosion too!

Cheap and delicious Amsterdam food is easy to come by. With hangovers and munchies affecting your hunger it is no surprise that there are an abundance of Fast Food chains and takeaways in Amsterdam. In fact it was actually more the way that the fast food was served that surprised us as you could buy it out of massive vending machines at Febo!

Amsterdam Food Febo

Hidden workers stand behind the vending machines churning out burgers, fries and sausage rolls so all you has to do is insert a Euro and “hey presto” you have a hot meal in your hungry hands.

Then there were the frites stores which seemed to be on every corner. The first thing you noticed about these was the tantalising smell. There is nothing like the smell of chips straight out of the fryer and covered in salt to get you tummy rumbling. Served in a triangle cardboard carton and covered in mayo which meant that that you couldn’t reach the chips at the bottom without covering your greedy fingers in sauce. Just a tad annoying!

But there is nothing like hot chips to warm you up on a cold day.

Finally, while hot chocolates are not typically food I feel they still deserve a mention especially because the usually come paired with waffles! Ahhhh the perfect breakfast.

Amsterdam Hot Chocolate

We loved nipping into a cafe or bar like Cafe Bar Eddy in Amsterdam to warm ourselves up with a hot chocolate. It literally tasted like they had melted chocolate down and added cream. Heaven in a cup. And the choice of waffles was daunting as you could have whatever you wanted. Fruit, chocolate, syrups, cream or all of the above!

If you are heading here then don’t expect to find an array of traditional Amsterdam food. Instead treat yourself to a hot chocolate and waffle for breakfast, grab a quick bite from a vending machine and sample some of the different cuisines found near the Red Light District.

If you stick to this Amsterdam food guide then your taste buds will have a great holiday too!

If you have visited before then what did you think of Amsterdam food?

Continue Reading

Meet Cole and Adela

Cole and AdelaWe have been wearing out our jandals (Kiwi for flip-flops) on our travel adventures around the world since 2009. We think our blog is thought provoking and a little witty. But we have been proven wrong before. Find out more about us here...

New on Four Jandals

What Are You Looking For?

Subscribe

Trending