Connect with us

Adventure Travel

Scuba Diving in Iceland with Dive.is – Review

Freezing crystal clear water and drysuits. My Dive.is review after experiencing one of the greatest adventures you can do while Scuba Diving in Iceland.

Published

on

Where have my fingers gone? Is my face meant to hurt this much? Why is my heart beat beating like a 90’s dance club anthem? I am an experienced diver. Surely scuba diving in Iceland shouldn’t be that different to regular diving?

Within minutes of slipping beneath the surface and becoming weightless these questions were tumbling around my head (which was suffering from brain freeze). At the end of the European winter with the outside air temperature tipping past -6 degrees Celsius (21 degrees Fahrenheit) I had decided to go scuba diving.

Was I insane?

Scuba diving in Iceland with Dive.is

Scuba Diving in Iceland with Dive.is

As we listened to our safety briefing I began to have some serious doubts about our decision to go snorkelling and diving in Iceland. Wrapped in our warmest winter jackets, the wind howled across the barren Icelandic landscape, straight from the North Pole.

All we wanted to do was jump back in the van and crank up the heater.

Instead we were told to strip down to our thermals and suit up. Luckily we were given additional thermals that were actually warmer than our winter gear.

Scuba diving in Iceland with Dive.is

Squeezing my head and limbs through the waterproof seals of my drysuit, I felt as if I the drysuit was giving birth to me. But knowing how hard they were to put on, I knew they would keep us dry from the year-round 2 degree water. Water which filtered it’s way through tiny cracks in the earth’s crust from the glaciers to the north.

So clear that you can see over 100m across across Thingvellir Lake. And it’s clean. So clean that you can actually drink it. You don’t even have to worry about people peeing in it since they are in their drysuits.

After loads of fluffing about, as seems normal when going with other divers, we finally waddled our way to the drop in zone. Clambering down the steep staircase there was nothing else to do but dive in.

Scuba diving in Iceland Silfra

As I dropped into the water the cold hit me like a tonne of bricks. My exposed lips switched from a rosy pink to a slight bluish colour and my finger muscles began to spasm. Ok, it wasn’t actually that cold. My drysuit was doing it’s job perfectly fine.

Diving between two continents, the Eurasian and American, can be a little daunting. Especially after the dive instructor told us to stay away from the walls in case they decided to collapse unexpectedly. Although this is highly unlikely as they only drift apart at a rate of 2cm per year.

Cole between tectonic plates in Silfra crack, Iceland

Pushing apart the tectonic plates in Silfra crack, Iceland

Drifting along due to the tiny current, caused by the flowing glacial water, we ascended and descended regularly as we navigated our way past the fallen boulders. Cracks and caves spilt across the open Silfra crack which meant that we were constantly having to adust out buoyancy. A feat made harder by the fresh water.

Entering Thingvellir Lake we make our slow progression across the sandy lake floor. The surface no more than a few metres above our heads. After just 45 minutes in the water our tanks were nearing the 50 bar mark and it was time to hit the surface. Ripples splashed across the lake as we came up out of the calm into the gale force wind again.

Cole Scuba diving in Iceland with Dive.is

While it was only a 5 minute hike back to the car park, with all our gear on our backs, our gloves still managed to freeze with icicles dripping from my fingers like hard tentacles. Nothing that hot chocolates and biscuits to warm me back up again though.

Additional Information about Scuba Diving in Iceland with Dive.is

Dive.is will pick you up from your hotel in Reykjavík for a scenic 45 minute drive to the dive site, Silfra in the middle of Þingvellir National Park. After your dive, and complimentary hot chocolates, they will drop you back again in Reykjavik.

They also bring along a diver to take photos and record your scuba diving in Iceland. Definitely worth the extra krona, or just bring your own camera.

Scuba diving in Iceland with Dive.is

While all the dive gear including drysuits, masks, fins and thermals are provided, you should consider some important things to bring on your dive trip with Dive.is:

  • Your dive certification card and if possible your divers log book.
  • For the actual dive you should wear thermal underwear, a long sleeved t shirt and warm socks.
  • Appropriate clothes for the rest of your tour. This includes a jacket and hat as the wind can be bitterly cold.
  • If you wear glasses make sure you take contact lenses.
  • A towel.

Scuba diving in Iceland with Dive.is is available all year round but you must be PADI Open Water (or equivalent) certified.

Price: 34,990 Kroner (US$290).

Disclaimer: We were provided with a complimentary dive tour with Dive.is, however, our thoughts and numb fingers are always our own.

Continue Reading
20 Comments

20 Comments

  1. Molly Yonderblog

    August 22, 2013 at 4:56 PM

    That water is unbelievably clear! What an amazing experience!

    • Cole Burmester

      August 23, 2013 at 4:04 AM

      It’s so clear because of the purity of the water. The problem is that it is so cold!

  2. Ashleigh

    August 22, 2013 at 10:09 PM

    Thanks Cole.

    What do we do if we aren’t paid qualified. I don’t think we have enough time to be able to get enough experience! Or should we get our buts into gear and get our PADI thing?

    I can’t wait to be there!!

    • Cole Burmester

      August 23, 2013 at 4:03 AM

      No worries mate 😉 You can just do a snorkelling trip with them as well which Adela did. She enjoyed it. To be honest I would do my Padi course somewhere warms like Thailand. Plus it is a lot cheaper!

  3. Kristy of Family Visa

    August 23, 2013 at 1:25 AM

    Wow, I think this diving experience of yours is one of the unforgettable moment that you will cherish for the rest of your life Cole since it’s freezing cold down there.

    • Cole Burmester

      August 23, 2013 at 4:04 AM

      It was freezing Kristy! Can’t wait to dive again in warmer water but this will definitely never be forgotten.

  4. Jackie Hutchings

    August 24, 2013 at 8:48 AM

    This is one of my bucket list dives. I’m a warm water girl normally but there’s something about the concept of diving between two continents which draws me to this site. Did you see any wildlife?

    • Cole Burmester

      August 25, 2013 at 6:39 AM

      Just very tiny fish so not too exciting. Apparently they have bigger fish which Adela saw while Snorkelling. Like you say though, it is about the experience of diving between 2 continents 😉

  5. Jack Kent

    August 26, 2013 at 12:34 PM

    I love diving but I have not tried it yet in a very cold place like Thingvellir Lake. Diving in a clear water would be so perfect but not a good idea of doing it in a cold place. ha ha ha I’m sure this is one of the memorable experience you have that you can be proud of as not all people have that courage to do it in a freezing lake. Two thumbs up for you, and if I have more thumbs, all of those will be UP for you! ha ha ha.

    • Cole Burmester

      August 27, 2013 at 12:55 PM

      Thanks Jack. Diving in Iceland was a very memorable experience.

  6. Charli | Wanderlusters

    August 27, 2013 at 5:48 PM

    Ooooooo you’ve ticked off one of my top Scuba bucket list locations. I’m super jealous! The thought of diving in between two tectonic plates boggles my mind, I need to get dry suit certified and over to Iceland asap!

    • Cole Burmester

      August 27, 2013 at 7:45 PM

      You don’t actually need your dry suit certification Charli 🙂 I don’t have mine and it was fine.

  7. Marian

    September 12, 2013 at 12:27 PM

    That was really an awesome experienced. Great pictures, the water is so clear, that drysuit really helps…

  8. Becky

    September 25, 2013 at 2:40 AM

    I’m feeling cold just looking at your photos! It looks incredible though and on my list of considerations for an upcoming December trip.

    • Cole Burmester

      September 29, 2013 at 6:23 AM

      December will be pretty chilly! Should be beautiful then though 🙂

  9. Lanell Jackson

    May 10, 2014 at 7:07 AM

    I’m PADI Open Water! So I’m good. Always wanted to try out diving in Iceland. When is the best month for it?

    • Cole Burmester

      May 10, 2014 at 12:27 PM

      Well I wouldn’t try it in winter as it was already so cold in April! Water is cold year round though so any time between April – Oct would be awesome.

  10. Selma

    June 16, 2014 at 3:09 PM

    Nothing like a winter SCUBA dive to put the ice in Iceland. Great post Cole…!

  11. Sharron Youens

    October 14, 2014 at 4:24 AM

    What a great review. I did exactly the same in February last year only having 9 logged dives so very inexperienced and extremely nervous. Your review is spot on, it is an amazing dive. I’m going back next year to do it again. I also went with Dive.is and can definitely recommend them.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Adventure Travel

Popular vs. Underrated Destinations:How To Avoid The Crowd?

Published

on

The biggest dilemma you have to face as an enthusiastic holidaymaker is whether to embrace popular destinations or to find lesser known regions for your vacations. Popular destinations have the advantage that they are experienced with tourists. You can be sure that you will find someone speaking your language and that hotel receptions will be open 24/7. But they are likely to be crowded to the point where it can be impossible to find a free spot on the beach or to walk down that famous avenue you’ve read about in your guidebook. Underrated destinations, in comparison, offer freedom of movement and peacefulness that you associate with a quiet pace of life. But they may not have all the necessary facilities to welcome tourists. You may struggle to find someone who speaks your language or even to get a decent hotel room, let alone direct flights to get there. In short, what’s the best answer to this dilemma?

Popular destinations with a twist

When you pick a destination that is familiar to the tourist industry, it’s both a blessing and a curse, as the available facilities and attractions are likely to attract hundreds if not thousands of same-minded tourists. However, these destinations are popular for a reason, so it would be a pity to avoid visiting marvels of the world just because you want to stay away from the crowd. Dubai, for example, receives every year a growing number of tourists, with estimations for 2020 to top 20 million. Needless to say, you’ll need to find things to do in Dubai that avoid the main entrance to their attraction area. But, looking for concierge services in famous cities like Dubai, Paris or Hong Kong can get you access to a privileged network to avoid tourists.

Visiting Dubai without the tourists

The perfect mix: Destinations that are about to get trendy

There are some destinations that are getting the necessary infrastructure to welcome tourists without having yet become popular. They are destinations in the making, areas that are about to go big and that you can visit while they’re not yet famous. The rising stars of the holiday industry are places such as José Ignacio in Uruguay – where you can meet the likes of Shakira among other celebrities – and Sofia in Bulgaria, which is Europe’s cheapest city destination. In those places, you can enjoy quality visits, beautiful landscapes, and architectures, without forgetting the exquisite hotel services too.

Beautiful and underrated destinations offer peace

Finally, there are places that simply don’t attract tourists for a reason or another. They are not specifically growing in popularity, but they remain hidden gems across the world. You will need to plan your holiday in advance, as some of these areas provide minimal comfort, such as the Basque Country which is a humble and quirky location. The Canary Islands, while being a highly popular spot in summer, is almost deserted in spring. There, you don’t need to worry about holiday attractions.

The charm of the forgotten destinations

In short, picking the best destinations for you demands a little bit of logistics juggle at first. Nobody likes a crowded place, so you can avoid other tourists either by choosing a different tile in a popular area or by working directly with a privileged service. If you are not keen on a famous destination, visit rising holiday stars or forgotten jewels. You’ll have fewer tourists but still a lot of fun!

Continue Reading

Adventure Travel

Five Of The Best Ways To Soak Up Scotland

Published

on

Rugged scenery, historic landmarks and a rich heritage – Scotland is a fantastic place to explore. With walking routes dotted between quaint cosy pubs, cities full with culture, and miles of beaches and scenic drives, there’s really no excuse not to embrace the tartan. Here are some of the best ways you can explore and soak up Scotland’s rich heritage.

Tour famous film locations

Scotland’s landscape is stunning, so no wonder its dramatic scenery has been captured on the big screen. Explore the picturesque film locations, such as Glen Coe for James Bond’s Skyfall moments. Visit Gairloch for the Billy Connolly classic, What We Did On Our Holiday where you can see views of the Isle of Skye from the expansive Red Point beach. Explore the Glenfinnan Viaduct in Lochaber for the iconic arched bridge that the Hogwarts Express chugs down in Harry potter.

By rail

Take the leisurely route around Scotland and travel by train. It’s a much needed break from walking routes, with stunning views from the window that look out across the ever-changing landscape. Scotland’s rail routes connect its seven cities with stops in many towns and villages across country, so you’ll find it easy to delve into the West Highlands from Glasgow, traveling through the scenic Fort William, or roll past the battlefields of Robert the Bruce through Dumfries.

Walk, trek, stroll

Discover all the wonderful wildlife and nature on foot. Trek through the rugged countryside for unbelievable sights of the towering mountains, shimmering lochs, golden beaches and lush farmland. Find Lochan Urr in Glen Etive for a spot of paradise, stroll along Applecross Bay, or scale new heights for stunning views of Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park. For longer routes head to Fort William and Glen Coe for miles of green countryside.

Castle to castle

You’ll find castles on top of, near enough, every rolling hill in Scotland. From pretty fairy tale castles to robust medieval fortresses, you can visit the most spectacular buildings all around Scotland. Enjoy strolling around the floral gardens looking up at the enchanting French design of Dunrobin Castle, on the northern coast near Dornoch. Explore Culzean Castle for dramatic scenes, or, Kilchurn near Dalmally in Argyll to gaze over the Loch Awe. Visit the royal stronghold, Fyvie Castle near Turriff for rich decor and 13th century furnishings. For something completely different, head to Kelburn Castle in Ayrshire for a colourful mural of unusual cartoons.

Cruise the Scottish waters

Take a look at Scotland from a different point of view by travelling Scotland’s shores on a boat cruise around the islands. Visit the Isle of Skye, Stornoway, Port Ellen, Montrose and the picturesque Holy Loch Port. For something even more adventurous, canoe in the lochs and rivers around Fort William.

Sound good? There’s so much to see in Scotland that you’re bound to be mesmerised!

Continue Reading

Adventure Travel

Top things to do in Cleveland

Published

on

By

Cleveland, Ohio may not be a well-known city like the Big Apple or the sunny beach cities of California, yet there is still much to do in this small but very vibrant city. If you have been planning on heading out to this wonderful city, then you’re in luck as there are numerous activities, attraction, and reservations that will be sure to educate as well as entertain the family.

Here is a small list of places and activities for the family and visitors to enjoy.

Why We Rock: Top Things to do in Cleveland

 

# 1 Hard Rock Rocksino

The Hard Rock Rocksino offers people a Las Vegas-esque kind of vibe and feel for the citizens and tourist of Ohio. If you love games, racing, elegant cuisine and just an overall fantastic night out on the town, the Hard Rock Rocksino is the place for you.

 

# 2 Outdoor Activities

If you are someone who isn’t too much into the nightlife and the whole city feel then Ohio still has you covered. Ohio indeed is one of the most aesthetically pleasing states to see and visit. Boasting and offering its residents and visitors sights and environments such as the Cuyahoga River in Lake Erie where people can go kayaking to The Townpath Trail where people can go jogging, hiking or horseback riding.

If you are an outdoor’ kind of person than this is the place for you. Beautiful atmosphere, surrounded by nature and overall a sight that is awe-inspiring to look at – what more could an outdoors person as for?

 

# 3 Education – Family friendly Orientated Places

Now, ask yourself what type of family trip it would be if you just visit and didn’t walk away learning something new and different? Well, in Ohio there are a plethora of places where you can take the family for an educational trip for the day.

There is the Cleveland Metroparks Zoo which boasts a wide array of animals from all around the world. There really is nothing more splendid for kids to see the animals that they love to imitate in person.

If the Zoo were fascinating and intriguing then the next destination, Greater Cleveland Aquarium would be sure to be as equally entertaining as the Zoo. When Visiting the Greater Cleveland Aquarium enter into an under that is akin to the Atlantis. Experience the aquatic lifeforms in such proximity.

Lastly, Ohio offers its residents and visitors many museums. There is the International Women’s Air and Space Museum which educates the populace about the story of aviation and how much women had their part in history. And let’s not forget the famous Rock and Roll Hall of Fame.

Final Thoughts

If you are deciding to visit this fantastic state, then be prepared for a wonderful visit and many cultural aspects that will be learned and offered. Make this trip a trip to remember with these places in mind.

Continue Reading

Meet Cole and Adela

Cole and AdelaWe have been wearing out our jandals (Kiwi for flip-flops) on our travel adventures around the world since 2009. We think our blog is thought provoking and a little witty. But we have been proven wrong before. Find out more about us here...

Trending