Connect with us

Europe

48 Hour I Amsterdam City Card Review

Check out our review and how we used the 48 Hour I Amsterdam City Card while exploring the capital of the Netherlands.

Published

on

Adela I Amsterdam sign

We love using tourist cards when visiting cities purely for their convenience. Being able to rock up to a museum or attraction and not worrying about fumbling around in our backpacks for cash (especially with confusing foreign currency) is great.

Plus you are usually provided with maps, guide books and suggested itineraries. And the savings are not just for attractions. You will often receive discounts on food and drinks or accommodation which for any budget traveller is a blessing.

So when we had the opportunity to trial the 48 Hour “I Amsterdam” City Card to explore the capital of the Netherlands we graciously accepted.

I Amsterdam City Card

For just €50.00 you have access to so many awesome attractions either for free or at a discount. Additionally you get free public transportation on all buses and trams. This was perfect for us as the weather was bone tingling cold and instead of freezing my nuts off we just hopped on and off the trams even if it was only a few stops.

To kick start our whirlwind tour and get our bearings we jumped on the one hour Canal Boat tour. It’s your choice between two different ones; Holland International or the Blue Boat Company.

We jumped on Holland International just because it was closest to the train station. While it was highly informative I was glad I hadn’t forked out the usual 13 euro.

Holland International Cruises Amsterdam

With the weather conspiring against us we popped into the Beurs van Berlage café for a quick bite to eat. I highly recommend the Buffalo Mozzarella sandwich!

One piece of advice for when you are planning to use your card is to check whether you get discounts or not and plan your eating habits accordingly. It wasn’t until we had ordered and I was flicking through the city guide book that I noticed we actually could get a bonus 25% discount on our meal at this café.

Amsterdam seems to be home to loads of quirky attractions including the Houseboat Museum or “Woonbootmuseum”. We actually walked past the museum as we were not quite sure what we were looking for.

It gives you the opportunity to see how some people live their lives but it did make me wish we had stayed on a canal boat rather than in an apartment!

Amsterdam Houseboat Museum

I didn’t have much desire to go to the Van Gogh museum as I am in no way an art buff and had no desire to spend several hours looking at paintings. However I am glad Adela twisted my arm.

Because even though it is the largest collection of Van Gogh paintings in the world the museum also provides loads of insight into his life and other influenced painters. I was shocked to realise that he actually committed suicide when he was only 37!

The most popular attraction in Amsterdam (apart from the coffee shops and red light district) seems to be the “I Amsterdam” sign. When it was first installed people commented that they it was an eyesore but judging by its popularity I think they made the right decision!

Adela I Amsterdam sign

One of the let downs was that unfortunately the I Amsterdam card does not include the Anne Frank house. I think that if they bumped the price up another 9 euro (the cost to get in the Anne Frank house) and included it as one of the freebies then more people would definitely use the card.

We also hit really cold weather so unfortunately we didn’t spend enough time enjoying some of Amsterdam’s sights. For example we did plan to hire bikes but were too worried about retaining the use of our fingers so stayed inside when we could. Hopefully we will get a chance to return in summer.

So while we do recommend the Amsterdam city card I would suggest making sure that you utilise it properly by planning well in advance what you want to see.

Thanks to Holland Tourism for providing us with the 48 Hour I Amsterdam city card. As always our words and thoughts are our own.

Cole is one half of New Zealand's leading adventure travel blogging couple who have been wearing out their jandals around the world since 2009. He loves any adventure activities and anything to do with the water whether it is Surfing, Diving, Swimming, Snorkeling or just lounging nearby on the beach. You can follow Cole on Google+. Or consider following us via RSS Feed, Twitter, Facebook and subscribe to our Newsletter.

Continue Reading
12 Comments

12 Comments

  1. The GypsyNesters

    February 10, 2012 at 6:00 PM

    Hey Cole! Thanks for the info. Periodically we have to take a city by storm and this looks like a great resource. Do you know of other cities that do something like this?

    • Cole

      February 11, 2012 at 12:19 PM

      Hey guys, thanks for the nice words. We had one in New York city as well and lots of other cities do it as well. A great way to see lots as long as you use them to their absolute max! Be prepared that you will be exhausted afterwards so might want to factor in an extra day for relaxing 🙂

  2. Andrew

    February 11, 2012 at 10:18 PM

    I like the idea of these cards. I see them in so many cities in Europe, but then I look at what I have planned for the days and usually decide against it. For me the biggest advantage is the public transport. I am not a big museum person and while I might go to one or two, never enough to make the math work out. So I usually just pay my museum fees and get a week card for the public transit.

    Amsterdam is on my list to visit again. I was there in 1995 and despite now living Europe, have not been back.

    • Cole

      February 12, 2012 at 11:52 AM

      The cards are definitely not for everyone Andrew but they are handy to have when you are short on time! I wonder if Amsterdam has changed much over 15 years?

  3. Nomadic Samuel

    February 13, 2012 at 7:02 AM

    Amsterdam is one of the top 3 cities I want to visit in Europe 🙂

    • Cole

      February 13, 2012 at 11:13 AM

      You don’t need more than a few days there in our opinion Sam. But definitely check it out!

  4. Stephanie - The Travel Chica

    February 16, 2012 at 6:01 PM

    I’m glad these cards are becoming more popular in big cities. Really makes it more affordable to see the sights.

    • Cole

      February 17, 2012 at 9:40 AM

      I agree, you just have to make sure you use them properly!

  5. Cheryl

    February 21, 2012 at 11:25 PM

    I like the idea of these cards but find they never include the things I like on them. Glad you had a fab time in Amsterdam, I loved it there as well.

    • Cole

      February 22, 2012 at 12:47 PM

      Yea it can be hit or miss. Definitely need to investigate them before you purchase them!

  6. Sarah

    December 12, 2012 at 7:03 AM

    Like Cheryl I really like the idea, but really need to check if if the card works for me. Some cards are not worth the money. The General German Automobile Association tested citycards this year – I found it really helpful.

    • Cole Burmester

      December 12, 2012 at 8:47 AM

      Thanks Sarah. Everyone is different depending on how they use the card. They work best if you are super busy! 🙂

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Adventure Travel

Top of Cappadocia day trek – with Middle Earth Travel

Published

on

Trekking through the valleys of Cappadocia’s fairy chimneys with Middle Earth Travel feels more like the set of a Star Wars movie than a historical region once carved out and lived in by humans. Churches, homes and pigeon houses are scattered throughout the valleys, all waiting to be explored. The best part is, Middle Earth Travel know all the hidden secrets.

Standing at the top of Cappadocia

Top of Cappadocia day trek – with Middle Earth Travel

On the 26th of July (which just so happens to be my birthday!) Middle Earth Travel took us on their private and guided Top of Cappadocia day trek. From Pasabag, along the top of Cappadocia and down through the Gulludere Rose Valley to Goreme, we trekked 15kms in one day! (We recommend getting your bearings with this map)

Upon arrival to the Middle Earth Offices, we were warmly greeted by our new friend Atil whom we had met a few days earlier while mountain biking through the Kizilcukur Red Valley. We were then introduced to our guide and given a briefing regarding the day. Normally, the Top of Cappadocia tour would start from Çavuşin, however, since we had already explored Çavuşin Castle, they adapted our tour to compensate ensuring we would explore new terrain!

With charged cameras, plenty of water and our running shoes on, we were driven to our starting point of Pasabag. We wandered through the fairy chimneys, coming across camels and markets – then the true hike began.

Pasabag in Cappadocia

The police station in Pasabag, Cappadocia

Camel in Pasabag, Cappadocia

Camel in Pasabag, Cappadocia

It was a slow and gentle incline. With no trees to provide shade, I quickly realised why our tour guide had chosen to wear fully covered clothing! As the sweat quickly set in (a waterfall in Moss’s case) we snapped away with our cameras and enjoyed the entertaining shapes of Imagine Valley and the amazing view. We also passed a lot of rock piles, which according to our guide mean ‘father’ and are built to help lead the way.

Animal shaped formations in Imagine Valley

Animal shaped formations in Imagine Valley

Middle Earth Travel, Cappadocia

Making our way to the top of Cappadocia

Father leading the way (rock pile)

Father leading the way (rock pile)

The higher we trekked, the more breath taking the views became! As we walked along the summit of Bozdag mountain (the Top of Cappadocia) we could see EVERTHING – Pasabag, Çavuşin Castle, Kizilcukur Red Valley, Gulludere Rose Valley and Goreme. We were on the Father of Valleys! After a quick nod of agreement to the guide, we pushed ourselves the extra distance and made our way to the flag, as this HAD to be the highest point and was definitely worth a photo and a selfie or two!

View from the top of Cappadocia

View from the top of Cappadocia

Flag at top of Cappadocia

From the flag we looked down upon Aktepe Hill which is known as a popular destination for watching the sun set and could spot Kizilvadi Restaurant, our destination for lunch! Kizilvadi Restaurant is an attraction of its own. With its own historic winery and Grape church, plus some Middle Earth Travel treks even stay there for the night! After having a massive feed of soup, salad and pasta plus a surprise birthday cake, we made our way down into Gulludere Rose Valley.

Kizilvadi Restaurant

Kizilvadi Restaurant

The scenery is amazing, with strong colours visible in perfect layers on the chimneys, you would wonder what an artist was thinking, had it been a painting. Also, hidden to the side of the track we walked across a little bridge and not expecting anything to be there we were wowed by the massive church carved. It was absolutely huge and hard to believe that its most recent use has been as a pigeon house!

Coloured chimneys in Cappadocia

Coloured chimneys in Cappadocia

Pigeon houses in Cappadocia

Pigeon houses in Cappadocia

Church in Gulludere Rose Valley

Hard to believe this Church is carved inside a fairy chimney!

Middle Earth Travel Review

  • The team at Middle Earth Travel were extremely knowledgeable and certainly know Cappadocia’s hidden secrets. They have friendships with local tea garden owners which is also of benefit as it gained us entry to locked churches and hidden rooms that we would not have otherwise seen.
  • We covered a lot of ground, however we did not feel rushed. The whole day focused on showing us the region, therefore we had as much time as we needed to explore each church and to take ‘just one more photo’.
  • It wasn’t all about trekking. With a whole day and 15kms to cover, there were a few silly poses (especially in Imagine Valley), and we learnt a lot about the myths, legends and way of life in Cappadocia.
  • In conclusion I highly recommend Middle Earth Travel if you wish to go trekking or mountain biking in Cappadocia.
  • Cost: Day treks with Middle Earth Travel range from 50-90 euro, depending on the number of people taking part. This includes lunch, guide, vehicle transfers and entrance fees to historical sites, but excludes alcoholic and soft drinks.
  • Middle Earth Travel are outdoor enthusiasts and offer multi-day over night treks, mountain biking, abseiling, or custom made itineraries, in multiple regions throughout Turkey.
  • www.middleearthtravel.com

Disclaimer: We were provided with a discount for the trek with Middle Earth Travel, however, as always our thoughts on our adventure travel blog our own.

Continue Reading

Adventure Travel

Walking the Camino de Santiago Photos

These are my favourite Camino de Santiago Photos from my pilgrimage along the French Way in March. A truly beautiful way to spend a few weeks.

Published

on

Puenta La Reina Bridge Camino Arrow

El Camino de Santiago kicked my ass. Well technically it kicked my feet. Turns out my minimal preparation for the Camino de Santiago was terrible. After a miserable effort of only 4 days, the doctor in Legrono told me that I wasn’t allowed to go on until me feet healed. I had walked just over 100 km’s and my feet were bloodied and blistered.

To be honest, I was relieved.

The thought of putting back on my shoes made my shudder. For the last 9 km’s I had stumbled along in jandals and socks. One of the travelling fashion sins I vowed I would never break.

Jandals on the Camino de Santiago

Jandals on the Camino de Santiago

So while I have unfinished business with the Way of St James (an upcoming post), I did want to share with you some of my favourite photos from the Camino de Santiago. Because I had yet to reach some of the more “unsavoury” parts of the Camino that Sherry Ott had discovered, every step of my pilgrimage had been beautiful.

Puenta La Reina Bridge Camino Arrow

Puenta La Reina Bridge – Camino de Santiago Arrows

There is no way you can get lost on the Camino de Santiago. Arrows, scallop shells and signs point you in the right direction at every bridge, road crossing and intersection.

Camino de Santiago Scallop Shell

Camino de Santiago Scallop Shell

Reaching the top of Alto Pedron gave views back the way I had come from Pamplona, as well as views to where I was going. The rocky path on the way down proved to be my ultimate downfall, as my too small shoes caused my toes to smash into the front.

Alto del Pedron Camino de Santiago

Alto del Pedron Camino de Santiago

Metal Pilgrims on Alto del Pedron

Metal Pilgrims on Alto del Pedron

There were so many beautiful old churches along the Camino de Santiago. But since I was walking in early March, it seemed that most were yet to open for the busier summer season.

Church of Obanos

The Church of Obanos

And between every small village the well-maintained pathways of the French Way wound across the spectacular Spanish countryside.

The French Way - Camino de Santiago

The French Way – Camino de Santiago Photos

Puenta La Reina

Puenta La Reina in the evening

Puenta La Reina has one of the most amazing bridges I have ever seen. It was also the 1st village I had the pleasure of sleeping in after busy Pamplona.

Puenta la Reina Bridge and Sunrise

Puenta la Reina Bridge at sunrise

Most mornings I was up and walking before the sun began to sprinkle across the horizon.

Spring flowers on the Camino de Santiago

Spring flowers on the Camino de Santiago

Pilgrims approaching Cirauqui, Spain

Pilgrims approaching Cirauqui, Spain

Every village and town was built on a small hill. Sure it looks beautiful until you realise you have to go back up again to go through them all!

Church of Santa Maria - Los Arcos

Church of Santa Maria in Los Arcos

While there were only about 20 pilgrims walking each section every day, it wasn’t uncommon for you to encounter them all. The people I met along the Camino de Santiago were some of the most inspiring and remarkable people I have ever spoken to. They are the ones that make the pilrgimage so special.

The endless French Way

The endless French Way

Irache Wine Fountain - Fuente del Vino

The free flowing Irache Wine Fountain or “Fuente del Vino”

Hay bales along the French Way

Hay bales along the French Way

Every village had at least one ancient church and it wasn’t uncommon to find them dotting the landscape in remote locations either.

Ermita de San Miguel

Ermita de San Miguel

Iglesia de San Andrés de Zariquiegui Church

Iglesia de San Andrés de Zariquiegui Church

I have travelled through Spain in the past, including cycling in Costa Brava and surfing in San Sebastian with both independent planning and a vacation planner. But having the opportunity to walk at my own pace through some of the most beautiful scenery in Spain on the Camino de Santiago has so far topped them all.

Natural arches - Camino de Santiago

Natural arches on the Camino de Santiago

Continue Reading

Europe

Tips for Making Any Overseas Trip a Romantic One

Published

on

Vacations are a great way to leave our everyday lives behind to spend some stress free time with the one we love. Travel in itself can be quite romantic but there are definitely ways you can spice up your holidays even more.

Follow these helpful tips to make sure your romantic holiday gets off on the right foot and continues to head down the tunnel of love and passion. You can easily turn any part of your travels into a special romantic affair.

Choosing the Right Destination

A romantic trip starts with selecting the right destination. There are definitely cities and regions which are much more prone to sparking romance than others. Beauty may be in the eye of the beholder, but generally destinations such as popular European cities, beach getaways, Asian resorts, luxury ski resorts, or tropical islands make for a good choice.

Couples should pick a destination which they both will enjoy as this will of course make it far easier to express their love for each other.

Choosing the Right Time

It is a good idea to select a time that will be most appropriate for your holiday. Choose a time that is easy for you in regards to taking time off work or from household duties. This will make it far easier to feel relaxed while on your holiday, allowing you to focus more on fuelling the romance.

You may also want to research when the best time is to visit your chosen destination so as to avoid peak crowds or unideal weather conditions.

Choosing a romantic date to travel such as an anniversary, honeymoon, or birthday can also turn any holiday into one filled with more passion. Travelling during Valentine’s Day can make for an especially romantic holiday of which there are many perfect Valentine’s Day destinations.

Fly Business Class

Although your destination may be exhilarating, the flight or flights to get there can be stressful. Minimise the stress of flying by booking business class where you’ll enjoy the VIP treatment with far more comfortable seats which many times convert into a bed allowing for a decent rest while in the air.

As a bonus you can many times be granted access to luxurious airport lounges when flying business class which makes waiting for your flight much easier as you are treated to free food and drinks along with clean bathrooms and seating areas.

Private Transportation

Public transportation can not only take longer to get to your hotel or attractions in your chosen destination, but they can also kill the mood for you and your loved one. By booking private transfers via your hotel or on your own, you can avoid buses, trams, and trains which can be crowded and noisy.

Choose a Nice Hotel

It may be difficult to find romance if you are staying in a dodgy motel or hostel. Be sure to book quality accommodation which has private en suites and clean furnishings. Remember that your vacation is supposed to be an escape, so make that escape the best it can be with premium toiletries, fancy marble bathroom floors, plush pillows, quality linen, and a nice hotel room view. All of these luxuries will make for a far more romantic getaway.

Eating Out

Nothing can ignite romance more than delicious food although preparing it isn’t always that much fun. One of the best aspects of travelling is that it gives us an excuse to not have to cook.

Seek out popular restaurants that offer a romantic setting, quality service, and mouth watering flavours that will leave you passionate for more than just satisfying your hungry stomach.

Get Dressed Up

Although you and your loved one may look good in any light and attire, it is never a bad idea to put on your Sunday’s best. It can sometimes be difficult in our everyday lives to find occasions to get all dressed and made up, so why not make your holiday abroad an excuse to do so.

Although clothes may not necessarily make the person, a nice dress or suit and tie can go a long way to giving us a little extra special glow to spark a bit of romance.

Log Off and Put the Phone Away

Nothing can kill a romantic dinner or event than the sound of message notifications, phone calls, or emails. Any holiday should be an excuse to remove the stress of the online world or work and with romantic holidays this becomes even more paramount.

You want to be focusing your attention on the love you and your partner share or if travelling solo you want this time to focus on the beauty of the destination you have selected which may in turn bring you a bit of romance. Disconnecting is all about reconnecting; so log off and put the phone away!

Reduce the Risk of Stressful Situations

Stress can kill romance very quickly. When we are stressed we can easily find ourselves getting into silly arguments or bouts of criticism. Your holiday is supposed to be an enjoyable experience so don’t let it turn sour by making the possibility of stress to creep on in.

Don’t try to overload your itinerary with too much and avoid setting too rigid of a timeline. Prior planning is important to avoid any unwanted surprises or disappointments when it comes to securing reservations for flights, hotels, or activities.

Should anything go wrong during your travels, you want to have the peace of mind you are protected by travel insurance from InsureandGo. Travel Insurance can help when the unforseen happens while you are overseas.

Continue Reading

Meet Cole and Adela

Cole and AdelaWe have been wearing out our jandals (Kiwi for flip-flops) on our travel adventures around the world since 2009. We think our blog is thought provoking and a little witty. But we have been proven wrong before. Find out more about us here...

New on Four Jandals

What Are You Looking For?

Subscribe

Trending